ICC Board & Committee meeting in Singapore 2018 - Image by ICC @ICC (Twitter)
This Might Interest You

International Cricket Council (ICC) have put a stop to the current World Cup qualification pathway via ICC World Cricket League divisions (Division 2 through 5) and have formulated a new pathway process going forward for the 12 Associate member countries beyond the Top 20 countries (12 Full members + Netherlands + 7 countries in Cricket World Cup League 2).

The countries ranked 21st until 32nd in the World Cricket League structure will compete in the CWC Challenge League from Aug 2019 for a 2.25 year period, in which there will be two groups of 6 countries each and each country will play 3 matches against the remaining 5 countries in the group. All matches in the CWC Challenge League will carry official List-A status, which will provide the good individual performances to get into official records for List-A overall records.

Top team from both the groups in the Challenge League will advance to 2022 Cricket World Cup qualifiers Play-off, where they will join the bottom 4 team’s from Cricket World Cup (CWC) League 2 and form the 6-nation play-off tournament. The top 2 team’s from the play-off tournament will advance to 2022 Cricket World Cup Qualifiers.

The Bottom 2 teams from both the groups in the Challenge League will be relegated to Cricket World Cup Challenge League Play-off, where they will compete with the regional qualifiers to earn the place in the next cycle of CWC Challenge League.

This Might Interest You

Share Your Opinion