Rohan Mustafa bowling, Nepal v United Arab Emirates, ICC World Cup Qualifiers Warm-up Match at Kwekwe - Image by ICC (OMZ) @ICC (Twitter)

The sub-regional qualification tournaments that started in Argentina has just concluded it’s journey in Philippines with a total of 12 tournaments held across 5 regions (3 groups in Africa/Europe and 2 groups each in Asia/Americas/East Asia-Pacific), with 62 Associate member nations competing for 25 spots into the regional finals.

The top 25 teams from the 12 sub-regional Qualifiers will now compete for 8 spots in the Regional finals to be held in 2019. With ICC awarding official T20I status to all International T20 matches for Men’s game from 01st Jan 2019, all matches in the regional finals will carry T20I status for all the competing nations.

Regional Final Qualifiers Participating Nations:

  1. Americas Regional Final (2 spots into Global Qualifiers): USA, Canada, Bermuda & Cayman Islands
  2. East Asia-Pacific Regional Final (1 spot into Global Qualifiers): Papua New Guinea, Vanuatu & Philippines
  3. Africa Regional Final (2 spots into Global Qualifiers): Kenya, Uganda, Namibia, Botswana, Nigeria & Ghana
  4. Asia Regional Final (2 spots into Global Qualifiers): Nepal, UAE, Malaysia, Singapore, Kuwait & Qatar
  5. Europe Regional Final (1 spot into Global Qualifiers): Denmark, Jersey, Guernsey, Italy, Germany & Norway

The host venue’s for East Asia-Pacific and African regional finals have been announced with Papua New Guinea and Uganda set to host the respective tournaments in 2019. The host venue’s for the remaining three regional finals (Asia, Americas & Europe) will be announced soon.

The 8 qualifiers from the regional finals will join Ireland, Scotland, Netherlands, Hong Kong, Oman and Zimbabwe in the Global Qualifiers, from which the top 6 nations will advance to the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup in 2020 in Australia.

This Might Interest You

Have Something to Say on the Topic??

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.