Thailand Women crowned Champions in ASEAN Women's T20 Cup - Image by Thailand Cricket //

Six Associate countries will compete for 2 qualification spots in the 2018 ICC Women’s WorldT20 tournament in West Indies, as Bangladesh, Netherlands, Ireland, Papua New Guinea, Scotland, Thailand, Uganda or United Arab Emirates will be in action in Netherlands from 3th – 14th Jul, 2018.

The two full members in the tournament, Bangladesh and Ireland will be pipped as pre-tournament favourites to clinch the two spots, the recent growth in Women’s cricket in the Associate countries will be also be on display, to perhaps ICC to consider increasing the number of countries for the Women’s WorldT20 from 2020 onwards.

The group stage matches of the WorldT20 will be played at Guyana National Stadium and Darren Sammy Stadium in Saint Lucia, while Sir Vivian Richards Stadium in Antigua and Barbuda will stage the two semi-finals and the final.

Thailand Women’s team recently won the 6-nation ASEAN T20 Women’s Cup to warm-up for the bigger challenges in Netherlands. Ireland Women and Bangladesh Women will play a 3-match WT20I series just before the start of the Qualifiers.

Ireland, Thailand, Scotland and United Arab Emirates are placed in one group while Bangladesh, Netherlands, Papua New Guinea and Uganda are placed in the 2nd group. Top 2 teams from each group will advance to the semi-finals.


This Might Interest You