Nepal bowler Sompal Kami comes into bowl during their final Group B, ICC World Cup Qualifier at BAC in Bulawayo, Mar 12 2018 - Image by ICC OMZ @ICC (Twitter)

Asian Cricket Council (ACC) have announced that Malaysia will be hosting the 2020 ACC Men’s Asia Cup Qualifiers in Aug 2020. Keeping in mind that the 2020 Men’s ICC T20 World Cup will be played in Oct 2020 in Australia, the Asia Cup Qualifiers and the main draw of Asia Cup will be played in T20 format.

All matches in the Asia Cup Qualifiers, Asia Cup and regional qualifiers towards the main Qualifiers will have official T20I status. The Asia Cup Qualifiers will be a 4-nation tournament, from which the winner will advance to the main draw of 2020 ACC Asia Cup. Pakistan have been awarded the hosting rights for the 2020 ACC Asia Cup and it will need to be seen whether they host it in their country or at a neutral venue owing to political situations between India and Pakistan.

Men’s team’s from UAE, Saudi Arabia, Oman, Kuwait, Qatar, Iran, Qatar and Maldives will compete in the Western region qualifiers, to be held in Feb 2020 in one of the GCC member countries. Similarly, Men’s team’s from Nepal, Hong Kong, Malaysia, Singapore, Bhutan, Thailand, Myanmar and China will compete in the Eastern region qualifiers, to be held in Mar 2020 in Thailand.

Top 2 nations from each of the regional qualifiers will advance towards 2020 Asia Cup Qualifiers in Malaysia. Malaysia hosted the 2018 Asia Cup Qualifiers, which was played in the 50-overs format. However, Asian Cricket Council (ACC) have announced in their meeting in Singapore in May 2019 that the 2020 edition will be played in the T20 format to ensure sub-continent countries get opportunity to play T20I matches before 2020 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup in Australia.

Did you read about this also?  Associates take a drubbing on opening day of U19 Asia Cup in Bangladesh
This Might Interest You

Have Something to Say on the Topic??