Associate players part of "The Hundred" draft list - Images by ICC Online Media Zone @ICC (Twitter)

The Hundred is the England and Wales Cricket Board’s new 100-ball tournament, which will be played in Jul – Aug 2020. It will be played by eight new teams, namely Birmingham Phoenix (Edgbaston), London Spirit (Lord’s), Manchester Originals (Old Trafford), Northern Superchargers (Leeds), Oval Invincibles (The Oval), Southern Brave (Ageas Bowl), Trent Rockets (Trent Bridge) & Welsh Fire (Cardiff).

The player draft for the tournament will take place on Oct 20th, with each team head coach, namely (Birmingham Phoenix) Andrew McDonald, (London Spirit) Shane Warne, (Manchester Originals) Simon Katich, (Northern Superchargers) Darren Lehmann, (Oval Invincibles) Tom Moody, (Southern Brave) Mahela Jayawardene, (Trent Rockets) Stephen Fleming & (Welsh Fire) Gary Kirsten to pick up players in a draft system.

Did you read about this also?  Live TV schedule and broadcasters for Men's T20 World Cup Qualifiers

Each team has 100 seconds to make their pick in each round and can pick upto 3 overseas players, in both their squad and their playing XI’s. More than 240+ overseas professionals have signed up for the 100 draft, which sees Associate players in Sandeep Lamichhane (Nepal), Pieter Seelar, Maxwell O’Dowd, Michael Rippon & Tobias Visee (All Netherlands) and Ali Khan (USA) also part of the list. While Sandeep has a base price of GBP£100,000, the others have entered the list with no reserve price. If selected, the players will need to negotiate their salary with the team.

Afghanistan players have also registered for the draft, with Rashid Khan (GBP£100,000), Mohammad Nabi (GBP£75,000), Mujeeb ur Rahman (GBP£60,000), Asghar Afghan (GBP£40,000) and Waqar Salamkheil (GBP£40,000) having a reserve base price. Other players without any reserve price in the list include Javed Ahmadi, Qais Ahmed, Zahir Khan, Hashmatullah Shahidi, Gulbadin Naib and Hazratullah Zazai. The full list of registered players for the “100” draft can be found here.

Did you know that 20 countries have ODI status and 104 countries have T20I status? Or that Scotland will host New Zealand in ODI cricket in 2020? Or, Thailand will play in 2020 Women’s T20 World Cup in Australia? Or, Japan and Nigeria will play in 2020 ICC U19 CWC in South Africa? Most people are missing out on the world of Associate Cricket. Are you one of them? Follow us at or to get all updates and news about the Global Associate Cricket World and how it works outside the Test playing circuit.

This Might Interest You

Have Something to Say on the Topic??