Belgium men's national squad during their home T20I series against Germany in 2019 - Image by Cricket Belgium @CricketBelgium (Twitter)

2020 will be the year of T20 extravaganza in Belgium, as the Cricket Board have now announced eight home T20I matches against various European opponents, before hosting the European sub-regional qualifiers for 2021 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup in Jun 2020.

Belgium will be hosting teams from Denmark, Austria, Romania, Czech Republic, Portugal, Isle of Man and Serbia in Europe Qualifier B from Jun 10th – 16th, 2020. Royal Brussels Cricket Club in Waterloo and The Belgium Oval in Ghent will be the venues of the tournament.

Cricket Belgium have also announced bi-lateral T20I series against Austria, Luxembourg and Romania to prepare for the ICC event. Austria and Romania are part of the same group as Belgium in the sub-regional qualifiers and will also get the opportunity to acclimatize to the ground conditions before the qualifiers.

Belgium will host Austria in a 3-match T20I series on Apr 18th & 19th, 2020. They then host Luxembourg for a 2-match T20I series on Apr 26th, followed by a 3-match T20I series against Romania on May 02nd & 03rd, 2020. The national squad, under the guidance of head coach Corey Rutgers will be travelling to Spain from Mar 27th – Apr 02nd, 2020 for their training camp at La Manga club.

This Might Interest You

Have Something to Say on the Topic??

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.