Biratnagar Warriors with Everest Premier League Title - Image by Everest Premier League @eplt20official

Biratnagar Warriors defeated Bhairahawa Gladiators by one run in a thriller of a finale to clinch the Everest Premier League (EPL) T20 cricket tournament title at the Tribhuvan University Grounds in Kathmandu on Saturday.

Elected to bat first after winning the toss, Biratnagar Warriors scored 149/7 in their allotted 20 overs. Anshuman Rath top-scored with 41 runs, with Skipper Paras Khadka contributing 27 runs and Anil Kumar Sah also adding 22 runs on the board.

Bhairahawa Gladiators’ skipper Sharad Vesawkar scored 52 runs while opener Pratham Salunke contributed 30 runs and Arif Sheikh made 27 runs in their run-chase but Biratnagar bowlers picked up wickets at crucial point to take the match into the final overs.

Anil Sah of Biratnagar claimed three wickets, while Karan KC and Paras Khadka took two and one wickets respectively.

In the dramatic last over, Bhairahawa Gladiators required 9 runs but managed to score only 7 runs, losing three wickets to hand Biratnagar a 1 run victory and the Championship.

Did you read about this also?  VR Naidu T20 Cup 2018 Division 1 concludes in Rwanda
This Might Interest You