Biratnagar Warriors vs Lalitpur Patriots - 2017 TVS EPL - Image by Binod Pandey @DearBinod

The end result between Biratnagar Warriors and Lalitpur Patriots came down to a difference of only 6 runs as both played out a thriller of a match in the 2017 TVS EPL at Tribhuvan University ground in Kirtipur.

Biratnagar, with their Hong Kong recruits in Babar Hayat and Anshuman Rath along with Nepal stars Paras Khadka and Anil Sah, batter first and posted 150/6 in their 20 overs. Nepal leggie Sandeep Lamichhane boosted his chances of getting a HKT20 Blitz ticket by dismissing both Hayat (34 off 25) and Rath (14 off 18) to have Biratnagar at some spot of bother at 68/3 in the 9th over.

However, Khadka (38 off 36) and Anil Sah (47 off 35) came together for a 74 runs partnership for the 4th wicket and took Biratnagar to a respectable total with the team losing 3 wickets in the final over in order to get quick runs to end at 150/6 in 20 overs.

Lalitpur were in early trouble as they lost Kolsawala and Malla within the first 4 overs to be at 19/2. Howver, Pawan Sarraf made amends to his failure with the bat yesterday as he anchored the innings at one end and along with Yogesh Nagar (27 off 31), took Lalitpur close to 100 in the 14th over before Nagar fell to Khadka.

The crucial blow came when Sarraf (51 off 47) got out to Rath after reaching his half-century. Kushal Bhurtel (20 n.o off 19) and Mahboob Alam (13 n.o off 14) were bogged down by some accurate and good death overs bowling by Biratnagar bowlers as Lalitpur managed to reach only 144/4 in their 20 overs to lose the match by 6 runs.

Karan KC, Paras Khadka, Basant Regmi & Anshuman Rath picked up a wicket apiece for Biratnagar Warriors.

This Might Interest You