This Might Interest You

Cricket Canada (CC) have announced the 14-member squad for the upcoming ICC World Cricket League (WCL) Division 2 tournament in Namibia from Apr 20th – 27th, 2019.

Canada return to Namibia once more for Division 2, as their last outing in 2018 ended in a heart-breaking scenario as Nepal clinched an near impossible victory from the jaws of defeat as a chance innings of luck from Karan KC and his last wicket partnership with Sandeep Lamichhane took Nepal to the most unlikeliest of victories and denied Canada the entry in 2018 ICC World Cup qualifiers.

A lot has changed in the past 12 months. Cricket Canada launched their own T20 league, put in impressive performances in West Indies regional Super50 tournament, had a change of leadership with former Proteas player Davy Jacobs taking over the reins, qualified for Americas finals for 2020 Men’s WT20 and recently concluded a successful tour of Sri Lanka, as part of their preparations for Division 2.

The top four teams among Hong Kong, Papua New Guinea, Canada, Namibia, Oman and USA from WCL Division 2 will join Scotland, Nepal and United Arab Emirates in the ICC Cricket World Cup League 2 from 2019-21, and play 36 ODI’s each over a 2 1/2 year period in 21 tri-series.

ICC World Cricket League Division 2 Schedule:

20th Apr 2019: PNG v Namibia @Wanderers ; Canada v Hong Kong, WAP ; Oman v USA, Trustco United

21st Apr 2019: Namibia v USA, Wanderers ; Canada v Oman, WAP ; PNG v Hong Kong, Trustco United

23rd Apr 2019: Hong Kong v Oman, Wanderers ; PNG v USA, WAP ; Namibia v Canada, Trustco United

24th Apr 2019: PNG v Canada, Wanderers ; Namibia v Oman, WAP ; Hong Kong v USA, Trustco United

26th Apr 2019: Canada v USA, Wanderers ; Namibia v Hong Kong, WAP ; PNG v Oman, Trustco United

27th Apr 2019: Final, Wanderers ; 3rd/4th play-off, WAP ; 5th/6th play-off, Trustco United

Canada squad will be travelling to Potchefstroom, South Africa, for a 2-week training camp prior to travelling to Namibia and will play Afghanistan national squad (also in South Africa for a preparatory camp) in a practice game during their stay in Potchefstroom.

Canada Squad for WCL Division 2:

Davy Jacobs (Captain), Navneet Dhaliwal, Rodrigo Thomas, Nitish Kumar, Ruvindu Gunasekera, Bhavindu Adihetty, Hiral Patel, Nikhil Dutta, Ravinderpal Singh, Srimantha Wijeyeratne, Saad Bin Zafar, Cecil Pervez, Romesh Don & Dilon Heyliger

This Might Interest You

Share Your Opinion