Canada players celebrate after taking a wicket against Oman in ICC World Cricket League Division 2 in Namibia - Image by ICC/Getty Images @ICC (Twitter)

Cricket Canada (CN) have announced the 14-member squad for the upcoming ICC World T20 Americas group “A” qualifiers, to be held at Raleigh Cricket Club in Morrisville, North Carolina, from Sep 19th – 26th, 2018.

Canada will be competing against host’s USA, Panama and Belize in a double round-robin league phase for 2 qualification spots in the Americas regional Finals in 2019. Bermuda and Cayman Islands have already qualified from Americas “B” qualifiers for the Finals. USA and Canada are the heavyweights among the Associate member nations in the region and will be expected to secure the qualification spots from Group “A” qualifiers.

Canada national squad members prepared for the qualifiers with a 4-team CricketFest tournament held during the Labour Day weekend, where Canada Men’s senior team, Canada A, Toronto Bears and West Indies B team played each other in a round-robin T20 tournament. All the match reports from the tournament can be found here.

Saad bin Zafar will link up with the squad once his commitments with SKN Patriots in 2018 Caribbean Premier League (CPL) gets over few days prior to the start of the qualifiers.

Canada Schedule in ICC World T20 Americas group “A” qualifiers:

19th Sep 2018: vs Belize @3pm

20th Sep 2018: vs Panama @10am

22nd Sep 2018: vs USA @3pm

23rd Sep 2018: vs Belize @10am

25th Sep 2018: vs USA @3pm

26th Sep 2018: vs Panama @3pm

Canada Squad for ICC World T20 Americas group “A” qualifiers:

Nitish Kumar (Captain), Abraash Khan, Cecil Pervez, Dilon Heyliger, Hamza Tariq, Junaid Siddiqui, Navneet Dhaliwal, Nikhil Dutta, Ravinderpal Singh, Rizwan Cheema, Rodrigo Thomas, Romesh Don, Saad bin Zafar & Srimantha Wijeyeratne

This Might Interest You

Share Your Opinion