Nepal U19 player Sagar Dhakal during U19 Asia Cup - Image by Asian Cricket Council @ACCMedia1 (Twitter)

Barring a few individual performances during the U19 Challenger series held in Hyderabad, the campaign was a dissapointing one for the young Nepal U19 squad members, as they lost all their matches against India A, B & C U19 squads, mainly made up of U19 players, who will represent India in ICC U19 Cricket World Cup in South Africa in Jan/Feb 2020.

The likes of Sher Malla, Akash Chand and Sagar Dhakal performed consistently in the bowling department, but it was the batting of the team, that was shabby and without any planning. Rit Gautam and Bishal Bikram KC managed to score a solitary half-century, but the team did not have anything else to show for in the entire tournament.

Nepal managed to take the game against India B close, but the other matches were lost to embarrassing margins of over 100+ runs and the 3rd/4th place game by 10 wickets. The U19 squad has been going without major success against the regional heavyweights for some time now, after their brilliant win over India U19 couple of seasons back in U19 Asia Cup.

Brief Scores

India C 258/6 in 50 overs (Saurav Dagar 58 n.o, Vikrant Bhadoriya 50, Shubhang Hegde 36 n.o, Arya Sethi 31, Sagar Dhakal 3/37, Kushal Malla 2/44, Bibek Kumar Yadav 1/46) beat Nepal A 103 all out in 32.5 overs (Kushal Malla 26, Khadak Bohara 26, Trit Das 19, Shubhang Hegde 3/24, Pradosh Paul 2/11, Vidyadhar Patil 2/15, Ravi Roshan Singh 2/35) by 155 runs

Nepal A 210 all out in 49.5 overs (Rit Gautam 84, Sher Malla 33, Hari Bahadur Chauhan 20, Divyansh Joshi 3/54, Atharva Ankolekar 2/12, Ravi Bishnoi 1/32, Vivek Kumar 1/31) lost to India B 211/8 in 46.3 overs (Divyansh Joshi 54, Kruthik Krishna 39, Harsh Jamwal 29, Sagar Dahiya 28, Akash Chand 4/41, Sagar Dhakal 2/31, Sher Malla 1/36, Kushal Malla 1/48) by 2 wickets

India A 247 all out in 48.2 overs (Dhruv Jurel 74, Sai Sudharsan 36, Yashasvi Jaiswal 33, Kaki Reddy 30, Sher Malla 3/54, Akash Chand 2/30, Hari Bahadur Chauhan 1/29) beat Nepal A 140/9 in 50 overs (Bishal Bikram KC 71, Sher Malla 21, Akash Chand 19 n.o, Kaki Reddy 2/21, Sameer Rizvi 2/24, Debopratim Haldar 1/13, Yashasvi Jaiswal 1/9) by 107 runs

3rd/4th play-off: Nepal A 116 all out in 32.1 overs (Kushal Malla 26, Chinntla Readdi 2/21, Mujtaba Yousuf 2/26, Vidyadhar Patil 2/28, Shubhang Hegde 2/29, Ravi Roshan Singh 2/11) lost to India C 120 for no loss in 21.1 overs (Arjun Azad 67 n.o, Divyaansh Saxena 52 n.o, Sagar Dhakal 0/23, Kushal Malla 0/21) by 10 wickets

This Might Interest You

Have Something to Say on the Topic??

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.