PNG batsman CJ Charles Amini in action during a play off match between Hong Kong and Papua New Guinea in the World Cup Quailfiers played at Old Hararians, March 17 2017 (©ICC) - Image by ICC OMZ @ICC (Twitter)

The final edition of ICC World Cricket League (WCL) Division 2 will be held in Namibia from Apr 20th – 27th, 2019. However, the marquee 50-overs tournament for Associate members will go out with a bang as the significance of Division 2 will be higher than ever as it will provide 4 ODI status members from 2019 until the ICC World Cup Qualifiers in 2022.

The top four teams among Hong Kong, Papua New Guinea, Canada, Namibia, Oman and USA from WCL Division 2 will join Scotland, Nepal and United Arab Emirates in the ICC Cricket World Cup League 2 from 2019-21, and play 36 ODI’s each over a 2 1/2 year period in 21 tri-series. Hong Kong and Papua New Guinea were relegated to Division 2 after a disappointing campaign in 2018 ICC World Cup Qualifiers, while Canada and Namibia finished 3rd/4th in the previously held Division 2 to stay in the Division. USA and Oman secured their promotion in Nov 2018 in the ICC WCL Division 3 held in Oman.

The action once again returns to Namibia, the scene for the previously held Division 2 in Feb 2018. All matches will be played at Wanderers, Windhoek Affies (WAP) & Trusto United grounds in Namibia with three group games on each match-day, followed by the Final and play-off’s on 27th Apr 2019. Two rest/reserve days are also in place between the match schedules on 22nd & 25th Apr respectively.

ICC World Cricket League Division 2 Schedule:

20th Apr 2019: PNG v Namibia @Wanderers ; Canada v Hong Kong, WAP ; Oman v USA, Trustco United

21st Apr 2019: Namibia v USA, Wanderers ; Canada v Oman, WAP ; PNG v Hong Kong, Trustco United

23rd Apr 2019: Hong Kong v Oman, Wanderers ; PNG v USA, WAP ; Namibia v Canada, Trustco United

24th Apr 2019: PNG v Canada, Wanderers ; Namibia v Oman, WAP ; Hong Kong v USA, Trustco United

26th Apr 2019: Canada v USA, Wanderers ; Namibia v Hong Kong, WAP ; PNG v Oman, Trustco United

27th Apr 2019: Final, Wanderers ; 3rd/4th play-off, WAP ; 5th/6th play-off, Trustco United

The team’s finishing 5th and 6th will join Bermuda, Denmark, Italy, Jersey, Kenya, Malaysia, Qatar, Singapore, Uganda and Vanuatu in Challenge leagues A & B.
ICC have already announced that all matches in the Qualifiers play-off and 2022 ICC World Cup Qualifiers will have official ODI status. All matches in Cricket World Cup Qualifier Challenge League A and B however, will carry official List-A status.


Canada: David Jacobs (Captain), Cecil Pervez, Dilon Heyliger, Hiral Patel, Navneet Dhaliwal, Nikhil Dutta, Nitish Kumar, Ravinderpal Singh, Rodrigo Thomas, Romesh Eranga Don, Ruvindu Gunasekera, Saad Zafar, Srimantha Wijeyeratne & Varun Sehdev

Hong Kong: Anshuman Rath (Captain), Aizaz Khan, Babar Hayat, Ehsan Khan, Tanwir Afzal, Kinchit Shah, Ahsan Abbasi, Scott McKechnie, Ehsan Nawaz, Tanveer Ahmed, Jamie Atkinson, Mohammad Ghazanfar, Jhatavedh Subramanyan & Shahid Wasif

Namibia: Gerhard Erasmus (Captain), Stephen Baard, James Bredenkamp, Karl Birkenstock, Jan Frylinck, Zane Green, Zhivago Groenewald, Jean Pierre Kotzé, Tangeni Lungameni, Bernard Scholtz, JJ Smit, Christi Viljoen, Craig Williams & Helao Nafidi ya France

Oman: Zeeshan Maqsood (Captain), Khawar Ali, Suraj Kumar, Fayyaz Butt, Kaleemullah, Khurram Khan, Bilal Khan, Sindo Michal, Muhammad Nadeem, Jay Odedra, Baadal Singh, Jatinder Singh, Aaqib Ilyas & Sandeed Goud

Papua New Guinea: Assad Vala (Captain), Dogodo Vare, Chad Soper, Charles Amini Jr, Damien Ravu, Eisa Eka, Hiri Hiri, Jason Kila, Joesph Dawes, John Reva, Kipling Doriga, Lega Siaka, Norman Vanua, Nosaina Pokana, Rodney Maha, Sese Bau, Simon Atai, Timothy Coyle & Tony Ura

USA: Saurabh Netravalkar (Captain), Jaskaran Malhotra, Steven Taylor, Jan Nisar Khan, Roy Silva, Monank Patel, Timil Patel, Aaron Jones, Hayden Walsh Jr., Elmore Hutchinson, Muhammad Ali Khan, Nosthush Kenjige, Xavier Marshall & Jessy Singh

This Might Interest You

Share Your Opinion