The timing wouldn’t have have been any better for Netherlands Cricket Board (KNCB), as they announced that one of the most iconic player in their country till date, Ryan ten Doeschate, is making a comeback into the national fold.

Coach Ryan Campbell expressed his delight on website: “Getting a player or Ryan’s talent and experience is a massive gain for us. What he brings to the squad is more than just runs, wickets and brilliant fielding. He brings a wealth of experience and knowledge in big matches. As captain of Essex he has just turned them to the Division One Championship. Our youngsters will gain knowledge that you can not buy off a shelf. We are on the brink or something special, but we will need to be cool, we will have no doubt Ryan will bring that.

Doeschate last represented The Netherlands in the 2011 World Cup in India, where he scored two centuries. The last 6 years has seen him play across the world as a T20 globe-trotter (most notably for Kolkata Knight Riders in IPL) and also captain English County side Essex and see them through to the Division 1 Championship.

Netherlands play Namibia in their final 2 rounds of WCL Championship matches against Namibia on December 6th & 8th in the UAE and having already secured their place in the 2018 ICC World Cup Qualifiers in March in Zimbabwe, a win against the Namibians will ensure they top the points table and take the coveted 13th spot reserved for the WCL Champions in ICC’s ODI League from 2019-2021.

A huge incentive for Ryan to continue his International career as being the 13th nation, Netherlands will be guaranteed 24 ODI matches against Test nations over the 2 year period and 36 ODI’s thereafter in the 3-year cycle.

Netherlands have updated their WCL squad with the inclusions of Ryan ten Doeschate and also adding Shane Snater, who earlier withdrew from the squad. Ryan’s inclusion is a big boost also as Netherlands failed to get permission from New Zealand first-class team, Otago to release Michael Rippon for the 2 matches.

Netherlands Squad:

Peter Borren (capt), Wesley Barresi, Ben Cooper, Ryan ten Doeschate, Paul van Meekeren, Stephan Myburgh, Max O’Dowd, Scott Edwards, Sikander Zulfiqar, Roelof van der Merwe, Shane Snater, Pieter Seelaar, Timm van der Gugten, Fred Klaassen & Vivian Kingma.

This Might Interest You