Friday the 13th will no longer have a scary note attached to it as the number 13 has become the luckiest number for an Associate country as ICC has approved the 13-team ODI league at its working committee meeting in Auckland, New Zealand.

The ODI league, featuring the game’s top 13 limited-overs nations, will commence in 2020-21, running for two years leading into the 2023 World Cup, before converting to a three-year league in each cycle beyond that. Each competing team will play in eight series over that time, each one being played over three matches.

This effectively means that the 13th nation (An Associate country) will play a guaranteed 24 ODI’s against 8 Test members in the first 2 year cycle and subsequently, 36 ODI’s in the following 3 year cycle.

“I would like to congratulate our members on reaching this agreement and putting the interests of the development of the game first,” ICC Chairman, Shashank Manohar said. “Bringing context to bilateral cricket is not a new challenge, but this is the first time a genuine solution has been agreed on.

“This means fans around the world can enjoy international cricket knowing every game counts and in the case of the ODI league, it counts towards qualification to the ICC Cricket World Cup.”

ICC have announced that the winners of the ongoing ICC WCL Championship will become the 13th team in the ODI League. It comes as a huge news for Netherlands, Papua New Guinea & Scotland, who are currently the top 3 in the points table and only 3 points separating them with 2 final round matches remaining to be played in December in UAE.

This Might Interest You