6 of the 12 teams in ICC CWC Challenge League A & B from 2019-2021 - Various team images by ICC OMZ @ICC (Twitter)

After the conclusion of ICC World Cricket League (WCL) Division 2 tournament in Windhoek, Namibia, Hong Kong and Canada were relegated to the newly formulated ICC CWC Challenge Leagues, that acts as a pathway towards qualification for 2023 ICC Cricket World Cup.

The 5th/6th play-off match in WCL Division 2, which saw Canada defeat Hong Kong, decided their groupings in the CWC Challenge League, as Canada joined Singapore, Denmark, Malaysia, Vanuatu and Qatar in Challenge League A, while Hong Kong joined Kenya, Uganda, Jersey, Bermuda and Italy in Challenge League B, which will run from Aug 2019 for a 2.25 year period, in which each country will play 3 matches against the remaining 5 countries in the group. All matches in the CWC Challenge League will carry official List-A status, which will provide the good individual performances to get into official records for List-A overall records.

Top team from both the groups in the Challenge League will advance to 2022 Cricket World Cup qualifiers play-off, where they will join the bottom 4 team’s from Cricket World Cup (CWC) League 2 and form the 6-nation play-off tournament. The top 2 team’s from the play-off tournament will advance to 2022 Cricket World Cup Qualifiers. All matches in the qualifiers play-off tournament will have official ODI status.

The Bottom 2 teams from both the groups in the Challenge League will be relegated to Cricket World Cup Challenge League Play-off, where they will compete with the regional qualifiers to earn the place in the next cycle of CWC Challenge League.

This Might Interest You

Share Your Opinion