Ireland display all-round show to beat Netherlands in ICC World Cup Qualifiers - Image by ICC/Getty Images @ICC (Cricket)

Cricket Ireland have announced the 7-member squad for the upcoming Hong Kong World Sixes tournament to be held at the Kowloon Cricket Club from 26th – 28th Oct 2018. The 20th edition of the iconic Hong Kong World Sixes will be held in an expanded 3-day format featuring 12 international teams (11 Countries including 3 Associate Countries).

South Africa are the defending Champions from the 2017 edition defeating Pakistan in the final, while Hong Kong won the plate championship. New Zealand won the 3rd/4th play-off match against Australia by 6 wickets.

Ireland’s last appearance in the tournament was in 2011, from which Paul Stirling and George Dockrell will be the returning members for the 2018 edition. Stirling will be leading the Irish team in the tournament. Hong Kong, Malaysia and Papua New Guinea are the three Associate member countries in the 2018 edition.

Ireland Squad for 2018 Hong Kong World Sixes:

Paul Stirling (Captain), Gareth Delany, George Dockrell, Shane Getkate, James Shannon, Simi Singh & Stuart Thompson

2018 Hong Kong World Sixes Participating Teams:

Afghanistan, Australia, Bangladesh, Hong Kong, Ireland, Malaysia, New Zealand, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, South Africa, Sri Lanka & Cricket Club of India (Guest Club)

This Might Interest You

Share Your Opinion