Chile Women's National squad ahead of 2018 Women's South American Championships in Bogota, Colombia - Image by Catalina Juger // Las Loicas Cricket Chile (Facebook)

Chile’s Women’s national squad has taken part in the Women’s category in South American Championships since the 2010’s but the 2018 squad will be in line to make history, as for the first time the squad members will be playing in official T20I status matches in the 2018 edition of the SACs, to be held at Los Pinos Polo Club ground in Bogota, Colombia.

Thanks to International Cricket Council’s initiative with providing International T20I status recognition to all T20 matches played between ICC members for Women’s cricket, effective 01st Jul 2018, the 15-member “Las Loicas” are set to play their maiden T20I matches in the 10th overall edition for the Women’s category in the SACs.

Chile Women’s team will be competing against team’s from Brazil, Mexico and Peru in the 2018 WSAC (Women’s South American Championships) with Argentina not sending their team to take part in the competition.

So much cricket has already happened in the past decade in the Women’s category in the region, but perhaps the added status eligibility brings something more on the plate for the teams participating in 2018, with the prospect of good results resulting in good rankings for the team when ICC release their Global rankings for Women’s T20I Team’s.

Chile Women’s Squad for 2018 Women’s South American Championships:

Jeannette Garces (Captain), Nicole Conejeros, Francisca Riquelme, Franchesca Moya, Francisca Galvez, Yaritza Beltran, Maria Jose Saavedra, Jessica Miranda, Juliette Guardia, Tiara Pueye, Ariel Tapia, Marisol Cea, Arlette Uribe, Anais Milla & Janice Espinoza

This Might Interest You

Have Something to Say on the Topic??

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.