Northern Queens and Eastern Lioness will play in the final for the inaugural Malaysian Super Women League Title - Image by Malaysian Cricket Association @MalaysiaCricket (Twitter)

Eastern Lioness and Northern Queens, the two teams who have looked the stongest in the Malaysian Super Women League so far, have booked their spots in the final of the tournament on 02nd Jan 2020. While Eastern Lioness won their semifinal match against Southern Jagaurs by a comfortable chase with 9 wickets left in the bag, Northern Queens saw off the challenge from Central Super Girls, as they defended their below-par total of 97 and still managed to win the game by over 30+ runs margin.

Alana Ryan and Adelaide Campion won the women-of-the-match awards for their respective teams in the semifinal matches. Samantha Arnold (170 runs), Alana Ryan (144 runs) and Adelaide Campion (116 runs) are the top 3 run-scorer’s in the competiton so far, while Manatsawee Jatho (9 wickets), Thipatcha Putthawong (8 wickets) and Vishy Deobhanker (8 wickets) are the top 3 bowlers in the tournament.

Captains pose with the Malaysian Super Women League Trophy at the launch of the tournament – Image by Malaysian Cricket Association @MalaysiaCricket (Twitter)

Eastern Lioness, who lost to Northern Queens by 34 runs during the group stages, will be looking forward to put on a strong showing to win the inaugural edition of the Super Women League. Queens, who had looked a strong unit since the first day of the competition amid a stunning loss in their final group stage game, will be banking on their bowling department to once again put them in the commanding spot against the Lioness in the final.

Central Super Girls and Southern Jaguars will play each other in the 3rd/4th play-off game in the morning session, while the final will take place in the afternoon session on 02nd Jan 2020. Both the matches will be live streamed on Malaysia Cricket Live YouTube channel.

Brief Scores

Semifinal#1: Southern Jaguars 90 all out in 17.3 overs (Selina Solman 26, Diviya GK 23, Vishy Deobhanker 3/15, Sunida Chaturongrattana 1/7, Edenyce Eduard Krismartini 1/6, Samantha Arnold 1/12) lost to Eastern Lioness 91/1 in 17.1 overs (Alana Ryan 44 n.o, Yusrina Yaakop 33 n.o, Wan Nor Zulaika 1/14) by 9 wickets

Semifinal#2: Northern Queens 97/7 in 20 overs (Adelaide Campion 37, Mahirah Izzati 14, Rosenanee Kanoh 3/19, Noor Hayati Zakaria 1/8, Mas Elysa Yasmin 1/16, Ni Made Putri Suwandewi 1/12) beat Central Super Girls 66 all out in 18.5 overs (Elsa Hunter 25, P. B. Swetha 21, Manatsawee Jatho 4/16, A Campion 3/7, Nik Nur Atiela 2/19, Thipatcha Putthawong 1/8) by 31 runs

This Might Interest You

Have Something to Say on the Topic??

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.