Malawi Men's National Squad ahead of their travel to Botswana for ICC World T20 and ACA T20 Africa Cup sub-regional qualifiers - Image by Malawi Cricket Union @mwcricket (Twitter)

Malawi Cricket Union (MCU) have announced the 14-member squad, which will take part in the 2018 ICC World T20 Africa “C” qualifiers taking place from 26th Oct – 05th Nov, 2018 & Africa Cricket Association (ACA) T20 Africa Cup qualifiers taking place from 06th Nov – 16th Nov, 2018 at the BCA Ovals in Gaborone, Botswana.

Malawi will be competing against host’s Botswana, Lesotho, Mozambique, Namibia, St.Helena, Swaziland & Zambia in the World T20 sub-regional qualifiers for two qualification spots into the Africa regional finals in 2019. Nigeria and Ghana (Africa Group “A”) & Kenya and Uganda (Africa Group “B”) have already qualified from the respective tournaments held in Nigeria and Rwanda respectively.

“As Malawi cricket is growing very quickly in the country the Malawi men’s team are in the process of preparing for their back to back Regional ICC T20 Qualifier and African Cup Qualifier. Preparations are going very well and the players are offering up a lot of their free time to attend the different camps that the Union is running. The players are willing to put in the time and effort on their own accord to prepare themselves as best as possible and that by itself is already a win for me” said Andre Botha, Malawi Cricket Union’s CEO, who is a former World Cup participant with Ireland.

To read the rest of the official press release, click here.

Malawi Squad:

Gershom Ntambalika, Michael Mwamadi, Irfan Patel, Robert Kanyandula, Irfan Bhima, Hamza Patel, Sami Sohail, Francis Nkhoma, Chisomo Chete, Donnex Kansonkho, Moazzam Baig, Mohamed Abdullah (Captain), Gift Kansonkho & Mohammad Khurrum

This Might Interest You

Share Your Opinion