Rohan Mustafa bowling, Nepal v United Arab Emirates, ICC World Cup Qualifiers Warm-up Match at Kwekwe - Image by ICC (OMZ) @ICC (Twitter)

All roads towards 2020 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Asia regional final Qualifiers will lead again to Malaysia, as they have been granted the hosting rights for the 6-nation event from Jul 25th – Aug 03rd, 2019. Malaysia had earlier hosted Asia group “B” sub-qualifiers in 2018, from which the trio of Nepal, Malaysia and Singapore had qualified to join the other three participants from group “A” sub-regional’s in UAE, Qatar and Kuwait.

Malaysia will be competing against Nepal, United Arab Emirates, Singapore, Kuwait and Qatar for two qualification spots into the Global Qualifiers, due to be played in Oct/Nov 2019 at a venue to be announced later. All matches in the single round-robin phase tournament will be played with official T20I status.

Barring Kuwait and Qatar, all the remaining team’s have played considerable amount of cricket in Malaysia in the recent past with the ACC Asia Cup Qualifiers also having taken place at the same venues in the country.

Kuwait and Qatar played their first official T20I matches in the recently concluded ACC Western region T20 tournament in Oman in Jan 2019.

This Might Interest You

Share Your Opinion