Marsa Sports Club - Image by Malta Cricket Association @MaltaCricket (Twitter)

Malta Cricket Association (MCA) will be hosting a 4-nation Quadrangular series in T20 format from Oct 17th – 20th, 2019. Malta will be hosting team’s from Czech Republic, Hungary and Iceland for the tournament. The tournament will be known as the T20 Valletta Cup.-

All the team’s will be playing each other in a single round-robin group stage format, at the conclusion of which, the team’s will play the semi-final’s based on the points on the log table, with the final slated for 20th Oct 2019. All matches except the ones involving Iceland (non-ICC member currently) will be played with official T20I status and will carry points towards ICC Men’s T20I Team rankings.

Malta’s previous International assignment was in Apr 2019, when they toured Spain to take part in a 3-nation tournament (T20) at La Manga in Murcia, while Czech Republic were recently involved in the 2019 Continental Cup tournament held in Romania. Sudesh Wickramasekara of Czech Republic his the first ever T20I century for his country in the tournament.

Did you read about this also?  Spain crowned Champions in 2019 La Manga T20 Tri-series


Malta: Bikram Arora (Captain), Sam Aquilina, Nowell Khosla, Haroon Mughal, Sumair Khan, Sean Byrne, Waseem Abbas, Jurg Hirschi, Sujesh K Appu, Gopal Chaturvedi, Michael Goonetilleke, Ravinder Singh, Aneesh Tomy, Alex Meears & Suhrid Roy

Hungary: Abhijeet Marc Ahuja (Captain), Khaibar Deldar, Abhishek Stan Ahuja, Abhishek Kheterpal, Sufiyan Mohammed, Harshvardhan Mandhyan, Habib Deldar, Satyadeep Narayan, Safi Zahir, Zeeshan Kukikhel, Nishantha Liyange, Steffan Gooch, Ali Haider, Maaz Bhaiji, Shehroz Ali & Akramullah Malikzada

Czech Republic: Ed Knowles (Captain), Hilal Ahmad, Arun Ashokan, Shaun Dalton, Sabawoon Davizi, Kyle Gilham, Honey Gori, Siddarth Goud, Arshd Hyat, Naveen Khan, Kushal Mendon, Rakshit Shoumyadeep, Paul Taylor & Sudesh Wickramasekara

Iceland: Nolan Williams (Captain), Prabath Weerasooriya, Sadun Lankathilaka, Lakmal Bandara, Abhi Chauhan, Lee Nelson, Brendon Fernando, Dushan Bandara, Keenan Botha, Derick Deonarain, Leslie DCunha, Sammy Gill, Jakob Robertson & Kit Harris

Malta T20I Quadrangular Series Schedule

Date Match Venue Time (Local)
17-Oct-19 Malta vs Iceland Marsa Oval 01:30PM
18-Oct-19 Czech Republic vs Malta Marsa Oval 08:00AM
Hungary vs Iceland Marsa Oval 11:30AM
Iceland vs Czech Republic Marsa Oval 03:00PM
19-Oct-19 Czech Republic vs Hungary Marsa Oval 10:00AM
Hungary vs Malta Marsa Oval 01:30PM
20-Oct-19 Semifinal#1 (1st vs 3rd) Marsa Oval 08:00AM
Semifinal#2 (2nd vs 4th) Marsa Oval 11:30AM
Final Marsa Oval 03:00PM


Did you know that 20 countries have ODI status and 104 countries have T20I status? Or that Scotland will host New Zealand in ODI cricket in 2020? Or, Thailand will play in 2020 Women’s T20 World Cup in Australia? Or, Japan and Nigeria will play in 2020 ICC U19 CWC in South Africa? Most people are missing out on the world of Associate Cricket. Are you one of them? Follow us at or to get all updates and news about the Global Associate Cricket World and how it works outside the Test playing circuit.

This Might Interest You

Have Something to Say on the Topic??