Nepal bowler Sandeep Lamichhane celebrates a wicket with team mates during a World Cup Qualifier play off cricket match between Nepal and Papua New Guinea at Old Hararians Sports Club March 15 2018 (©ICC) - Image by ICC/Getty Images @ICC (Twitter)

the 2019 South Asian Games (SAG) organizing committee have announced the schedule for the men’s cricket medal category, to be hosted by Nepal from Dec 01st – 10th, 2019. The revised schedule was announced after India and Pakistan pulled out of cricket discipline (men’s and women’s) in the Games.

U23 squads from Bangladesh and Sri Lanka, along with host’s Nepal, Maldives and Bhutan will compete in the men’s category. The Associate member countries are expected to field their senior men’s squads, much like the regulations in the ongoing ACC Emerging Asia Cup event in Bangladesh.

All matches will be played in the T20 format and will be played at the Tribhuvan University ground at Kirtipur, Kathmandu. Top 2 team’s at the conclusion of the single round-robin group stage format will qualify for the final and will compete for the Gold/Silver medal game, while 3rd/4th play-off will determine the Bronze medal winner.


Bangladesh U23: Nazmul Hossain Shanto (Captain), Saif Hassan, Mohammad Naim, Afif Hossain, Zakir Hasan, Yasir Ali, Syed Minhajul Abedin Afridi, Sumon Khan, Mahidul Islam, Tanvir Islam, Manik Khan, Mehede Hasan Rana, Soumya Sarkar, Mahadi Hasan & Hasan Mahmud

Bhutan: Thinley Jamtsho, Jigme Singye, Tenzin Wangchuk, Tobden Singye, Tenzin Wangchuk (1), Suprit Pradhan, Mikyo R Dorji, Snam Tobgay, Karma Dorji, Kesang Nima, Thinley Jamtsho (1), Namgang Chejay, Jigme Thinley, Ugyen Dorji & Jigme N Dorji

Sri Lanka U23: Pathum Nissanka, Hasitha Boyagoda, Vishwa Chathuranga, Charith Asalanka (Captain), Kamindu Mendis, Ashen Bandara, Shammu Ashan, Nishan Madushka, Jehan Daniel, Asitha Fernando, Kalana Perera, Duvindu Tillekaratne, Sachindu Colombage & Kanishka Anjula

Nepal: Gyanendra Malla (Captain), Paras Khadka, Dipendra Singh Airee, Sompal Kami, Karan KC, Binod Bhandari, Lalit Rajbanshi, Pawan Sarraf, Sandeep Jora, Sushan Bhari, Arif Sheikh, Abinash Bohara, Kushal Bhurtel, Rohit Paudel & Rasid Khan

Maldives: Ahmed Hassan, Hassan Ibrahim, Adam Nasif Umar, Mohamed Rishwan, Faruhath Yoosuf, Mohamed Evaan Ali, Mohamed Azzam, Ibrahim Rizah, Mohamed Mahafooz (Captain), Leam Shafeeq, Ahmed Ameel Mauroof, Ismail Nazuwan Badheeu, Hassan Haziq Rasheed & Mohamed Ameer Lateef

2019 South Asian Games (Men’s Cricket) Schedule (Local Timings)

03rd Dec 2019: Nepal vs Sri Lanka U23 @11:00am

04th Dec 2019: Bangladesh U23 vs Maldives @9:00am ; Sri Lanka U23 vs Bhutan @1:00pm

05th Dec 2019: Nepal vs Bhutan @9:00am ; Maldives vs Sri Lanka U23 @1:00pm

06th Dec 2019: Bangladesh U23 vs Bhutan @9:00am ; Maldives vs Nepal @1:00pm

07th Dec 2019: Nepal vs Bangladesh U23 @11:00am

08th Dec 2019: Bangladesh U23 vs Sri Lanka U23 @9:00am ; Maldives vs Bhutan @1:00pm

09th Dec 2019: Bronze Medal Play-off (3rd/4th) @11:00am

10th Dec 2019: Gold Medal (Final) @11:00am

This Might Interest You

Have Something to Say on the Topic??

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.