Namibia player Lohan Louwrens in action - Image by Herge Shultz (Namibian)

Cricket Namibia (CN) have announced the 13-member squad, that will take part in the 2018 Africa T20 Cup, to be hosted by Cricket South Africa (CSA) from Sep 14th – 16th, 2018.

Namibia are placed in Pool C along with Kenya, Border, Eastern Province and Mpumalanga. All matches will be hosted by Border province at East London. The 20 teams participating in the tournament have been divided in four groups of 5 each, with the group phase to take place from Sep 14th – 16th and the semi-finals and final to be played on Sep 23rd – 24th, 2018 respectively. The top team from each group will advance to the semi-final stage.

Jan Frylinck takes over the captaincy reigns after the retirements of previous captain Sarel Burger following Namibia’s campaign in ICC WCL Division 2 in Feb 2018. The national side also saw retirements of fellow veterans Craig William & Gerrie Snyman as well along with Burger and it is no doubt the time for rebuilding the team again with youngster’s taking up the mantle of senior positions in the side.

While Kenya and Namibia have been part of the tournament in it’s previous editions, Uganda and Nigeria will be participating for the first time. Uganda replaced Ghana in the tournament after the latter declined CSA’s invitation after the initial announcement of the team’s taking part in the 2018 edition.

Namibia Schedule (all timings local):

14th Sep 2018: vs Eastern Province @Buffalo Park, East London @9:30am

14th Sep 2018: vs Border @Police Park, East London @1:30pm

15th Sep 2018: vs Mpumalanga @Police Park, East London @1:30pm

16th Sep 2018: vs Kenya @Buffalo Park, East London @9:30am

Namibia squad for 2018 Africa T20 Cup:

Stephen Baard, Lohandre Louwrens, Daniel Du Preez, Jan Frylinck (Captain), Zane Green, Bernard Scholtz, Colin Peake, JJ Smit, Tangeni Lungameni, Nikolaas Davin, Christopher Coombe, Jan Lofie-Eaton & Gerhard Erasmus

This Might Interest You

Have Something to Say on the Topic??

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.