St Helena in action during ICC World T20 Africa "C" qualifiers - Image by ICC Africa @icc_africa (Twitter)
This Might Interest You

On an action-packed day 2 of the ongoing ICC World T20 Africa “C” qualifiers at BCA Oval grounds in Gaborone, Botswana, Namibia and St Helena remained unbeaten in the competition after notching up 3 wins in as many group matches played so far by both of them in the 7-nation tournament.

It was also a record-making day for Namibia players as Lohan Louwrens became the first player in the tournament to register a century and Tangeni Lungameni claimed the first hat-trick of the tournament during their bowling innings.

Namibia in action against Mozambique in ICC World T20 Africa “C” qualifiers – Image by ICC Africa @icc_africa (Twitter)

St Helena have been doing all things right so far by winning all their 3 group matches played so far and barring the tense close encounter against Malawi, their remaining 2 wins were notched up pretty comfortably. Scott Crowie, Ryan Belgrove, Phillip Stroud and Andrew Yon have been consistent in their performances so far for them and would like to continue on the same as the tournament progresses.

St Helena celebrate a wicket-fall during their group phase match in ICC World T20 Africa “C” qualifiers – Image by ICC Africa @icc_africa (Twitter)

Lesotho opened their campaign with a win over Swaziland but lost out to St Helena in the afternoon encounter. Swaziland and Mozambique lost their matches on day 2 and with three losses already for Swaziland, their campaign is all but seems over to challenge for the top 2 spots.

Lesotho make a winning start in ICC World T20 Africa “C” qualifiers – Image by ICC Africa @icc_africa (Twitter)

Brief Scores:

Swaziland 105/7 in 20 overs (Junain Hansrod 31, Alexander Nicholas 22, Harris Rashid 19, Sarfaraj Patel 3/21, Shakele Ramataboe 1/19) lost to Lesotho 109/2 in 12.5 overs (Sarfaraj Patel 34 n.o, Maaz Khan 25, Ayaj Patel 19, Harris Rashid 2/30) by 8 wickets

St Helena 136/5 in 20 overs (Andrew Yon 54, Scott Crowie 45, Gershom Ntambalika 3/14, Irfan Bhima 1/17) beat Malawi 130/5 in 20 overs (Donnex Kansonkho 41, Moazzam Baig 34, Gershom Ntambalika 29 n.o, Scott Crowie 2/14, Phillip Stroud 2/41) by 6 runs

St Helena 196/5 in 20 overs (Scott Crowie 63 n.o, Damien O’Bey 55, Ryan Belgrove 54, Riaz Suleman 2/31, Shakele Ramataboe 2/44) beat Lesotho 123 all out in 17.2 overs (Maaz Khan 51, Sarfaraj Patel 21, Phillip Stroud 3/10, Ryan Belgrove 3/28, Gareth Johnson 2/20, Scott Crowie 2/34) by 73 runs

Namibia 229/6 in 20 overs (Lohan Louwrens 100, Jan Frylinck 83, Jan Nicole Loftie-Eaton 13, Joao Huo 2/50, Filipe Cossa 2/30, Damiao Couana 1/31) beat Mozambique 104 all out in 18.4 overs (Damiao Couana 28, Filipe Cossa 24, Imran Ismail 17, Tangeni Lungameni 5/18, Jan Nicole Loftie-Eaton 2/10, Bernard Scholtz 2/24, Zhivago Groenewald 1/9) by 125 runs

This Might Interest You

Share Your Opinion