Nepal bowler Sandeep Lamichhane celebrates a wicket with team mates during a World Cup Qualifier play off cricket match between Nepal and Papua New Guinea at Old Hararians Sports Club March 15 2018 (©ICC) - Image by ICC/Getty Images @ICC (Twitter)

Not many surprises were expected with Nepal’s squad for the upcoming ICC World T20 Asia “B” qualifiers from Oct 03rd – 12th, 2018 in Malaysia and it has went as per the script. The 14-member squad consist’s of most of the squad member, who has toured Malaysia a few weeks back in the ACC Asia Cup qualifiers.

Pradeep Airee made a comeback to the  national team after more than three years with the ICC World Twenty20 Qualifier match against Jersey in Dublin on Jul 18th, 2015, being his last appearance in Nepal colours in T20 International matches.

Sharad Vesawkar comes back into the squad after a 2-month layoff after injuring his finger during Nepal’s ODI debut against Netherlands on Aug 01st, 2018 and missed the team’s campaign during the Asia Cup qualifiers.

Nepal will be competing against host’s Malaysia, Singapore, Myanmar, Thailand, Bhutan and China in the tournament to try to claim one of the three qualification spots available from the 7-nation qualifiers into the Asian region finals in 2019. UAE, Qatar and Kuwait have already qualified from Asia “A” qualifier earlier this year. All matches will be played at UKM Oval and Bayuemas Oval, with three matches slated to be played on each match-day from 03rd – 12th. Two morning matches at both venues will start at 10 am local while Bayuemas Oval will host the third match of each tournament day at 2:30 pm local time.

Nepal Schedule in ICC World T20 Asia “B” qualifiers:

03rd Oct 2018: Myanmar vs Nepal @Bayuemas Oval @2:30 pm

06th Oct 2018: Malaysia vs Nepal @Bayuemas Oval @10:00 am

07th Oct 2018: Nepal vs Thailand @Bayuemas Oval @2:30 pm

09th Oct 2018: Bhutan vs Nepal @UKM Oval @10:00 am

10th Oct 2018: Nepal vs China @Bayuemas Oval @10:00 am

12th Oct 2018: Singapore vs Nepal @Bayuemas Oval @2:30 pm

Nepal Squad:

Paras Khadka (Captain), Gyanendra Malla, Anil Kumar Sah, Basanta Regmi, Dipendra Singh Airee, Karan KC, Lalit Singh Bhandari, Binod Bhandari, Lalit Rajbanshi, Aarif Sheikh, Sandeep Lamichhane, Sompal Kami, Pradeep Airee & Sharad Vesawkar

This Might Interest You

Share Your Opinion