ICC Board & Committee Meeting in Oct 2018 - Image by ICC @ICC (Twitter)

International Cricket Council (ICC) have re-named the 13-nation ODI league commencing from May 2020 as Cricket World Cup Super League.

The Super league, featuring the game’s top 13 limited-overs nations, will be running for two years leading into the 2023 World Cup, before converting to a three-year league in each cycle beyond that. Each competing team will play in eight series over that time, each one being played over three matches. In total, every member in the Super League (12 Full members + Netherlands) will play 24 ODI matches, which will be a direct pathway for 2023 ICC Cricket World Cup qualification.

Top 8 team’s at the end of the Super League will qualify directly for 2023 ICC Cricket World Cup, while the bottom 5 team’s will be relegated to 2022 ICC World Cup Qualifiers, where they will be joined by top 3 team’s from ICC Cricket World Cup League 2 and top 2 team’s from 2022 ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifiers play-off tournament.

Netherlands qualified on virtue of being the 2015-2017 ICC World Cricket League Championship winners and became the 13th entrant into the league.

As per the FTP scheduling, here are the series Netherlands will play against to try and qualify directly for 2023 ICC World Cup in India by finishing in top 8 in the ODI League:

FY2020-2021: Netherlands vs Pakistan (Home), Netherlands vs West Indies (Home), Netherlands vs Zimbabwe (Away), Netherlands vs South Africa (Away)

FY2021-2022: Netherlands vs England (Home), Netherlands vs Ireland (Home), Netherlands vs Afghanistan (Away), Netherlands vs New Zealand (Away)

This Might Interest You

Share Your Opinion