Nigeria secured qualification into Africa regional Finals with win against The Gambia - Image by CCCLeagueUpdate @CCCLeague (Twitter)

Nigeria Cricket Federation (NCF) have announced the 15-member squad for the upcoming 2018 Africa T20 Cup from Sep 14th – 16th, 2018 in South Africa. Nigeria will be participating for the first time in the tournament after Cricket South Africa (CSA) expanded the tournament to 20 teams to include 4 African region Associate member countries including Uganda, Namibia and Kenya.

The 20 teams participating in the tournament have been divided in four groups of 5 each, with the group phase to take place from Sep 14th – 16th and the semi-finals and final to be played on Sep 23rd – 24th, 2018 respectively. The top team from each group will advance to the semi-final stage.

Nigeria are placed in Pool B along with Northern CapeBoland, North West and Limpopo. All matches will be hosted by Boland province at Paarl. The National squad left on 08th Sep for a pre-tournament tour in Cape Town before heading to Paarl for the tournament proper. 4 players from the victorious U19 side from ICC U19 World Cup Africa Division 2 have been selected in the squad.

For more information on the tournament, kindly click the link to also get the news about the 5th African nation participating in the tournament, Zimbabwe, who have sent an Select XI side for the event.

Nigeria Schedule in Africa T20 Cup (all timings local):

14th Sep 2018: vs North West @Boland Park, Paarl @9:30am

15th Sep 2018: vs Northern Cape @Boland Park, Paarl @9:30am

15th Sep 2018: vs Boland @Boland Park, Paarl @1:30pm

16th Sep 2018: vs Limpopo @Boland Park, Paarl @9:30am

Nigeria Squad for 2018 Africa T20 Cup:

Onikoyi Ademola, Okpe Isaac, Ayannaike Joshua, Iteogu Chibuike, Onwuzilike Chimezie, Danladi Isaac, Gim Daniel, Abioye Abiodun, Adedeji Sessan, Ovais Yousouf, Mohammed Taiwo, Sylvester Okpe, Mojeed Adiamo, Adewoye Vincent & Aho Peter

This Might Interest You

Share Your Opinion