PNG bowler CJ Charles Amini bowls during a Group A World Cup Qualifier cricket match between Papua New Guinea and Ireland at Harare Sports Club, March 6 2018 - Image by ICC OMZ @ICC (Twitter)

International Cricket Council (ICC) have announced the schedule for the first 8 set of Tri-series in the ICC CWC League 2 competition, which will see Scotland, UAE, Nepal, Namibia,w Oman, Papua New Guinea and United States of America participate in the next 2 1/2 year period, in which all the 7 countries will play a total of 36 ODI matches.

The League will see 126 ODI’s played across 21 set of Tri-series, with the first series kicking off in Scotland on 14 August 2019 in Aberdeen. It will be the first time for Nepal, Namibia, Oman, PNG and USA to host ODI matches at home. Each Tri-series will see teams play a total of six ODI’s, with teams competing for the top three spots of the League 2 table which will confirm their direct entry in the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Qualifier 2022.

Papua New Guinea will get their opportunity to host 3 Tri-series at home and first one will be happening in Jun 2020, when they host UAE and Nepal at Amini Park, Port Moresby from Jun 09th – 16th, 2019. PNG have previously hosted Hong Kong for 50-overs matches at Amini Park ground.

In the recent past, Amini Park has hosted the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup East Asia-Pacific regional finals that saw PNG compete against Vanuatu and Philippines. PNG secured their place in CWC League 2 and ODI status until 2022 at the recently concluded 2019 ICC World Cricket League (WCL) Division 2 tournament in Namibia.

Did you read about this also?  Will UAE series mark the beginning of new fortunes for Nepal?? A view by Manish Ghimire
This Might Interest You

Have Something to Say on the Topic??