Qatar hosted and won the 3-match T20I series against Uganda at home in Feb 2020 - Image by Qatar Cricket Association @QatarCricketAs1 (Twitter)

Qatar men’s national squad will be back at Al Amerat for another edition of ACC Western Region T20 tournament, however the tournament serves as a qualification pathway towards 2022 ACC Asia Cup Qualifiers this time around, while the previous edition in Jan 2019 was a standalone tournament in which they lost the final to Saudi Arabia.

Qatar have had reasonable success in the T20 format, with victory over Nepal in the Asian regional finals for 2020 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup in Singapore in 2019 being the highlight of the year for them. This time around, they will face tough challenge from Oman and United Arab Emirates, who were not part of the standalone tournament in Jan 2019.

Qatar played host’s to visiting Uganda squad before travelling to Oman, where they played a 3-match T20I series, which they won 2-1.

Qatar Squad

Tamoor Sajjad, Zaheeruddeen Ibrahim, Iqbal Hussain Chaudhry (Captain), Kamran Khan, Muhammad Awais Malik, Mohammad Rizlan Iqbar, Noman Sarwar, Mohammad Imran Ashraf, Khurram Shahzad, Muhammad Tanveer, Faisal Javed Khan, Gayan Buddika, Dharmang Hasmukh, Musawar Shah, Saqlain Arshad, Imal Liyanage, Owais Ahmed and Muhammed Nadeem

Top Players in Western Region T20 in Oman in Jan 2019

Muhammad Tanveer (157 runs and 1 wicket in 5 innings), Faisal Javed Khan (141 runs in 5 innings), Tamoor Sajjad (118 runs and 10 wickets in 4 innings), Kamran Khan (107 runs in 5 innings), Iqbal Hussain Chaudhry (7 wickets in 5 innings), Awais Malik (6 wickets in 5 innings), Muhammed Nadeem (3 wickets in 5 innings) and Noman Sarwar (45 runs and 2 wickets in 5 innings)

Uganda tour of Qatar T20I series results

1st T20I: Qatar 201/2 in 20 overs (Muhammad Tanveer 57 n.o, Zaheer Ibrahim 50, Kamran Khan 43, Imal Liyanage 37 n.o, Frank Nsubuga 1/25) beat Uganda 161/6 in 20 overs (Frank Akankwasa 66, Deusdedit Muhumuza 42, Kenneth Waiswa 21, Awais Malik 2/30, Iqbal Hussain 1/18, Gayan Buddika 1/29) by 40 runs

2nd T20I: Qatar 154/4 in 20 overs (Kamran Khan 68, Muhammad Tanveer 29 n.o, Imal Liyanage 22, Charles Waiswa 1/36, Frank Akankwasa 1/37) beat Uganda 126/7 in 20 overs (Kenneth Waiswa 39, Arnold Otwani 25, Roger Mukasa 24, Awais Malik 2/17, Iqbal Hussain 2/28, Mohammad Nadeem 2/30) by 28 runs

3rd T20I: Uganda 134/6 in 20 overs (Brian Masaba 29, Frank Akankwasa 28, Arnold Otwani 27, Iqbal Hussain 2/41, Musawar Shah 1/20, Gayan Buddika 1/21) beat Qatar 116 all out in 18.4 overs (Zaheer Ibrahim 44, Kamran Khan 23, Deusdedit Muhumuza 5/13, Trevor Bukenya 2/19, Charles Waiswa 2/21) by 18 runs

This Might Interest You

Have Something to Say on the Topic??

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.