Sompai Kami (L) of Nepal is run out by Richie Berrington (unseen) of Scotland during the ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifier between Scotland v Nepal at Queens Sports Club on March 8, 2018 in Bulawayo, Zimbabwe (©ICC) - ICC OMZ @ICC (Twitter)

Former WorldT20 champions and three-time finalists Sri Lanka and Bangladesh will be competing along with the six qualifiers from T20 World Cup global qualifiers in the group stage of the tournament for four spots into the main Super 12’s, which will be held from 18th Oct – 15th Nov 2020.

As per the qualification criteria set for the tournament, Australia and the other nine top-ranked sides in the T20I team rankings as on 31st Dec 2018 have ensured direct qualification. However, the top eight make it straight to the Super 12’s stage while the remaining two will play in the group stage along with six other teams who will qualify from the ICC T20 World Cup Qualifiers in 2019. Four teams from the group stage will advance to the Super 12’s along with the eight direct entrants.

Pakistan, India, England, Australia, South Africa, New Zealand, the Windies and Afghanistan will start their T20 World Cup campaign directly from the Super 12’s stage of the tournament.

The global qualifiers will be held in 2019 (Oct/Nov) in UAE, where a total of 14 countries (Bottom 6 in T20I team rankings as on 31st Dec 2018 and having featured in 2016 WorldT20 in India + 8 regional qualifiers) will be competing for the 6 spots on offer.

Papua New Guinea, Kenya, UAE (direct qualifier as host’s), Namibia and Jersey have qualified from the regional qualifiers so far and three spots remain to be claim from Asia (1 spot) and Americas qualifiers (2 spots).

This Might Interest You

Share Your Opinion