Nepal captain Paras Khadka in a tricky space now to guide his team to Final - Image by Malaysian Cricket Association @ACCMedia1 (Twitter)

ICC had earlier announced that Malaysia will be hosting the Asia “B” qualifiers for WorldT20 in Oct 2018. Host’s Malaysia will be joined by teams from Nepal, Singapore, Bhutan, China, Myanmar and Thailand to compete for 3 qualification spots in the Asian Regional Finals. The tournament will take place between Oct 03rd – 12th, 2018.

All matches will be played at UKM Oval and Bayuemas Oval, with three matches slated to be played on each match-day from 03rd – 12th. Two morning matches at both venues will start at 10 am local while Bayuemas Oval will host the third match of each tournament day at 2:30 pm local time.

Many of the current members of the Nepal national squad have recently played in Malaysia as part of Nepal U19 team in the ACC U19 Asia Cup and they will be definite pre-tournament favourites to advance to the regional finals from this tournament. Nepal took part in the ACC Asia Cup qualifiers recently but had a disappointment campaign and will look to make amends against other Associate members in the sub-regional qualifiers.

Malaysia hosted ICC WCL Division 4 at home and they will be expected to use home condition advantage over their opponents for other qualification spots available for the regional finals. Their performances against Hong Kong and Oman in the ACC Asia Cup qualifiers have been stupendous and the team will look to continue their good form in home conditions.

Cricket Bhutan have already announced their squad for the qualifiers after the completion of their domestic T20 tournament at home. Singapore and Malaysia were part of ACC Asia Cup qualifiers, which concluded recently in Malaysia and will be two top-contenders to claim qualification spots along with Nepal.

Did you read about this also?  Nepal announce squads for tours of Singapore and Oman

China took part in 2018 East Asia Cup from Sep 13th – 16th, 2018 in Hong Kong and competed against the likes of Japan, Korea and Hong Kong Dragons. Thailand recently toured Malaysia as part of their high-performance programme and played few T20 matches to get acclimatized to the conditions.

ICC World T20 Asia “B” qualifiers schedule:

03rd Oct 2018: Malaysia vs Bhutan @Bayuemas Oval ; Thailand vs China @UKM Oval ; Myanmar vs Nepal @Bayuemas Oval

04th Oct 2018: Bhutan vs China @Bayuemas Oval ; Malaysia vs Thailand @UKM Oval ; Singapore vs Myanmar @Bayuemas Oval

06th Oct 2018: Malaysia vs Nepal @Bayuemas Oval ; Singapore vs China @UKM Oval ; Thailand vs Bhutan @Bayuemas Oval

07th Oct 2018: Malaysia vs Singapore @Bayuemas Oval ; China vs Myanmar @UKM Oval ; Nepal vs Thailand @Bayuemas Oval

09th Oct 2018: Thailand vs Singapore @Bayuemas Oval ; Bhutan vs Nepal @UKM Oval; Myanmar vs Malaysia @Bayuemas Oval

10th Oct 2018: Nepal vs China @Bayuemas Oval ; Bhutan vs Singapore @UKM Oval ; Myanmar vs Thailand @Bayuemas Oval

12th Oct 2018: Bhutan vs Myanmar @Bayuemas Oval ; China vs Malaysia @UKM Oval ; Singapore vs Nepal @Bayuemas Oval

This Might Interest You

Have Something to Say on the Topic??