UAE with Series Trophy against Zimbabwe A - Official Emirates Cricket Board image

Kuwait is all set to host World Cup Twenty20 Qualifiers Asia “A” (18th – 27th April 2018) group at home as they vie for the top 3 spots from the sub-regional qualifiers into the Asian regional finals.

Kuwait will be joined by Bahrain, Maldives, Qatar, Saudi Arabia and UAE in the 6-nation tournament. Matches in Kuwait will be played at Sulaibiya Cricket Ground and TACK Entertainment City Cricket Ground, Doha. Top 2 teams at the end of the round-robin format will qualify for the final and claim the first 2 spots in the regional finals while teams finishing 3rd and 4th will compete in the play-off for the final qualification spot in the regional finals.

While UAE will be pre-tournament favourites to claim one of the spots into the regional finals, the remaining two spots will be fought for in a tough tussle between the other five countries. Saudi Arabia recently came back from Uganda, where they won the series 2-1 with 2 matches washed off due to weather conditions. UAE’s Ashfaq Ahmed and Rohan Mustafa are currently playing RUSLAN DPL 2 T20 tournament in Nepal and will join the rest of the squad once it gets over.

Maldives will be participating in what would be their maiden appearance in an ICC event and will be looking forward to impress one and all in the tournament. Bahrain and Qatar players have been playing domestic cricket in their own countries and host’s Kuwait have secured ex-Proteas Herschelle Gibbs services for coaching the national squad players for this tournament.

Qualifiers Asia “A” Schedule (all times local):

20th Apr 2018 – Kuwait vs Maldives (Sulaibiya – 10:00 am) ; UAE vs Qatar (Doha – 14:00 pm) ; Saudi Arabia vs Bahrain (Sulaibiya – 14:00 pm)

21st Apr 2018 – Maldives vs Bahrain (Doha – 10:00 am) ; Kuwait vs Qatar (Sulaibiya – 10:00 am) ; Saudi Arabia vs Bahrain (Doha – 14:00 pm)

23rd Apr 2018 – Maldives vs Qatar (Doha – 10:00 am) ; Bahrain vs UAE (Sulaibiya – 10:00 am) ; Saudi Arabia vs Kuwait (Doha – 14:00 pm)

24th Apr 2018 – Maldives vs UAE (Sulaibiya – 10:00 am) ; Bahrain vs Kuwait (Doha – 14:00 pm) ; Saudi Arabia vs Qatar (Sulaibiya – 14:00 pm)

26th Apr 2018 – Kuwait vs UAE (Doha – 10:00 am) ; Bahrain vs Qatar (Sulaibiya – 10:00 am) ; Saudi Arabia vs Maldives (Sulaibiya – 14:00 pm)

27th Apr 2018 – 3rd/4th play-off (Doha – 10:00 am) ; Final (Doha – 14:00 pm)

This Might Interest You

Share Your Opinion