Germany Women's National Squad - Image by Sevil Oktem/

La Manga will become part of a little piece of special history when from 26th to 30th Jun 2019, it host’s the ICC Europe Women’s qualifiers for qualification towards global qualifiers for 2020 ICC Women’s T20 World Cup and 2021 ICC Women’s World Cup. It will be the first time, when the Women’s squad from Germany make their International debut for the first time in an ICC qualifiers.

Germany Women will compete against Scotland and Netherlands for the lone qualification spot into the global qualifiers. While Germany and Netherlands will compete for the spot into the T20 global qualifiers (Scotland are automatic qualifiers as host’s of global qualifiers), all three countries will compete for the spot into the global qualifiers for Women’s World Cup.

While Scotland and Netherlands made their Women’s T20I team debut’s during the 2018 Women’s World T20 Global qualifiers held in Netherlands, Germany will be making their T20I debut in the 2019 European qualifiers. All matches in the Europe qualifiers will be live streamed on ICC’s facebook and YouTube platforms.

Scotland and Netherlands players took part in the ECB Women’s County Championships Divisions recently, after which Netherlands women squad toured English county Essex, where they played five T20 games against an Essex senior team, the Essex U17, and an Eastern Regional team.

German Women team also toured Essex to play practice matches against Essex Women 1st XI and East region Academy squads to prepare for the qualifiers.

Germany Women Squad

Anuradha Doddaballapur (Captain), Milena Beresford, Anne Bierwisch, Stefanie Frohnmayer, Christina Gough, Anna Healey, Asmita Kohli, Suzanne McAnanama-Brereton, Janet Ronalds, Verena Stolle, Karthika Vijayaraghavan, Peris Wadenpohl, Antonia Meyenborg & Selina Meyenborg

Netherlands Women Squad

Juliët Post (Captain), Heather Siegers, Denise van Deventer, Robine Rijke, Babette de Leede, Miranda Veringmeier, Jolien van Vliet, Caroline de Lange, Hannah Landheer, Iris Zwilling, Annemijn van Beuge, Sterre Kalis, Silver Siegers & Eva Lynch

Netherlands tour of Essex Scoresheets:

Essex Senior XI 115/9 (Iris Zwilling 3/16) lost to Netherlands 116/5 (Denise Hannema 29, Robine Rijke 24 n.o, Babette de Leede 24) by 5 wickets

Netherlands 229/2 (Heather Siegers 111 Retired Out, Denise Hannema 83 n.o) beat Essex U17 141/8 (Silver Siegers 4/20) by 88 runs

Netherlands 141/6 (Annemijn Thomson 26, Sterre Kalis 24) beat Essex Eastern Regional XI 132/6 (Caroline de Lange 2/15, Hanna Landheer 2/22) by 4 wickets

Essex Eastern Regional XI 105/8 (Hannah Landheer 3/12, Silver Siegers 3/22) lost to Netherlands 106/2 (Sterre Kalis 54 n.o, Denise Hannema 40) by 8 wickets

Essex Senior XI 100/6 (Gwen Bloemen 3/15) lost to Netherlands 101/4 (Sterre Kalis 35, Heather Siegers 35) by 6 wickets

Scotland Women Squad

Kathryn Bryce (Captain), Sarah Bryce, Priyanaz Chatterji, Katherine Fraser, Becky Glen, Samantha Haggo, Lorna Jack, Abtaha Maqsood, Megan McColl, Katie McGill, Hannah Rainey, Rachel Scholes, Charis Scott & Ruth Willis

Scotland in ECB Championship Division 2 T20:

Scotland Women 40/4 in 10 overs (Ruth Willis 15 n.o, Lorna Jack 9, Milly Squire 1/5, Emily Edgcombe 1/6) lost to Devon Women 45/0 in 7.4 overs (Georgia Hennessy 22 n.o, Emma Corney 18 n.o, Megan McColl 0/11, Katherine Fraser 0/12) by 10 wickets

Somerset Women 108/6 in 20 overs (Sophie Luff 52, Emma Godman 10, Megan McColl 3/18, Abtaha Maqsood 1/9, Kathryn Bryce 1/17, Samantha Haggo 1/20) beat Scotland Women 106/2 in 20 overs (Sarah Bryce 54, Rachel Scholes 14 n.o, Kathryn Bryce 14, Lorna Jack 13, Lauren Filer 1/14, Lorraine Szczepanski 1/18) by 2 runs

This Might Interest You

Have Something to Say on the Topic??

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.