Singapore national squad with 2018 Stan Ngaiah Trophy after 3/0 win over Malaysia - Image by Singapore Cricket Association @SingaporeCric (Twitter)

Singapore won the 2018 edition of Stan Ngaiah Trophy after a clean sweep across all the three T20 matches against neighbours, Malaysia at Singapore Indian Association ground. The annual series was played in the T20 format to provide both Singapore and Malaysia good preparatory matches ahead of their participation in the ICC World T20 Asia “B” qualifiers in Malaysia from Oct 03rd – 12th, 2018.

The three matches in the series were played under the lights was live streamed on Singapore Cricket Association (SCA) facebook page. After the win in the first match of the series, Singapore posted comfortable margin victories in the next two matches to wrap-up the series and retain the trophy from last year.

The tournament is expected to return back to it’s 50-overs format in 2019 again. For Malaysia, Sharvin Muniandy had a good series with both bat and the ball, while for Singapore, opener Aritra Dutta and bowler Anantha Krishna performed admirably and will be looking forward to replicating the same in the upcoming ICC World T20 qualifiers.

Brief Scores:

Malaysia 143/7 in 20 overs (Anwar Arudin 40, Shafiq Sharif 32, Syahadat Ramli 23, Sharvin Muniandy 16, Janak Prakash 4/35, Anantha Krishna 1/26, Shoib Razzak 1/21) lost to Singapore 146/6 in 18.4 overs (Aritra Dutta 41, Chetan Suryawanshi 38, Manpreet Singh 27 n.o, Arjun Mutreja 19, Sham Fitri 3/20, Muhammad Anwar 1/26, Sharvin Muniandy 1/19) by 4 wickets

Malaysia 136/6 in 20 overs (Sharvin Muniandy 48, Shafiq Sharif 28, Anwar Arudin 20, Sivanantha Krishnan 19 n.o, Anantha Krishna 3/23, Vinoth Baskaran 1/13, Shoib Razzak 1/16) lost to Singapore 140/4 in 18.1 overs (Surendran Chandramohan 76, Manpreet Singh 28 n.o, Aritra Dutta 23, Muhammad Anwar 2/27, Abdul Rashid 1/23, Muhammad Wafiq 1/14) by 6 wickets

This Might Interest You

Share Your Opinion