Scotland celebrating the win over Thailand, 9th Match, Group B, ICC Women's World Twenty20 Qualifier at Utrecht, Jul 10th 2018 - Image by ICC OMZ @ICC (Twitter)

Spain will be hosting the European regional qualifiers for Women’s World Cups (2020 ICC Women’s T20 World Cup and 2021 ICC Women’s World Cup) from Jun 24th – 30th, 2019.

As announced by ICC after the conclusion of their Board and Technical Committee meetings held in Singapore in Oct 2018, the regional qualifiers in 2019 will determine the pathway towards the global qualifiers for both T20 and 50-overs World Cups. There will not be separate regional qualifiers for 50-overs World Cup. The regional qualifiers will be staged in the T20 format across all five regions (Africa, Asia, Americas, Europe and East Asia-Pacific).

Women’s squads from Scotland, Netherlands and Germany will be competing in the European qualifiers, from which the top nation will join Ireland and Bangladesh in the Global Qualifiers for both the World Cup’s (20-overs & 50-overs). All matches in the qualifiers will carry official T20I status and points will be counted towards the Global Women’s T20I Team rankings.

The 50-overs Global Qualifiers will also see the bottom 3 team’s from the ongoing ICC Women’s Championships 2017-2020 join the regional qualifiers and Ireland/Bangladesh.

While Scotland and Netherlands made their Women’s T20I team debut’s during the 2018 Women’s World T20 Global qualifiers held in Netherlands, Germany will be making their T20I debut in the 2019 European qualifiers.

This Might Interest You

Have Something to Say on the Topic??

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.