UAE U19 and Nepal U19 in action during Asia Division 1 qualifiers for 2020 ICC U19CWC in Malaysia - Image by ICC Asia @ICCAsia1 (Twitter)

Sri Lanka will host the 8-nation U19 Asian Cricket Council (ACC) Asia Cup from Sep 05th – 14th, 2019. The tournament will be played in the traditional 50-overs format.

U19 team’s from India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh and Afghanistan will be joined by UAE, Nepal and Kuwait in the tourament. While UAE and Kuwait qualified from the western region T20 qualifiers held in UAE, Nepal qualified from the eastern region qualifiers held in Malaysia. Bangladesh hosted the 2018 edition of the tournament, which was eventually won by India U19.

Unlike the 2018 event, where the participating Associate members from the 2017 edition were given direct entry, the 2019 event will see both regional qualifiers taking place with team’s getting preparation and qualifying matches to build the U19 squads. As announced earlier by Asian Cricket Council during the unvieling of the calendar of events for 2019 and 2020, the three qualifiers from Western and Eastern regional qualifiers will qualify for both the editions of 2019 and 2020 in Sri Lanka and UAE respectively.

While exception was given to UAE on account of qualifying for the 2020 ICC U19 Cricket World Cup, the qualifying spots was increased in the Western qualifiers to two, enabling Kuwait also to qualify after reaching the finals of the tournament. Eastern qualifiers spot was reduced by one in 2019. However, for the 2020 edition of the ACC U19 Asia Cup in UAE, both Nepal and Hong Kong have qualified by reaching the finals of the Eastern qualifiers, while only one spot will be given to UAE from the Western region.

As per the schedule of 2018 edition of the U19 Asia Cup, U19 team’s of Afghanistan, India, Nepal and UAE were placed in Group A, while U19 team’s of Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh and Hong Kong were placed in the Group B. For full schedule from the 2018 edition, click here. The schedule for the 2019 edition of U19 Asia Cup can be found on ACC website.


India U19: Dhruv Chand Jurel (Captain), Suved Parkar, Thakur Tilak Varma, Nehal Wadhera, Arjun Azad, Shashwat Rawat, Varun Lavande, Salil Arora, Karan Lal, Atharva Ankolekar, Pankaj Yadav, Akash Singh, Sushant Mishra, Purnank Tyagi & Vidyadhar Patil

Pakistan U19: Rohail Nazir (Captain), Haider Ali, Aamir Ali, Abu Huraira, Adul Wahid Bangalzai, Akhtar Shah, Fahad Munir, Mohammad Aamir, Mohammad Abbas Afridi, Mohammad Basit Ali, Mohammad Haris, Mohammad Irfan Khan, Mohammad Wasim JR, Naseem Shah & Qasim Akram

Afghanistan U19: Farhan Zakhail (Captain), Sedeq Atal, Asif Musazai, Rahmanullah Zadran, Abdullah Naib, Islam Zazai, Nangyal, Shafiq Ghafari, Jamshid, Noor Ahmad, Abdul Rahman, Fazal Haq, Abid Tani, Mohammad Ishaq & Sami Salarzai

This Might Interest You

Share Your Opinion