Nepal and Malaysia in action during T20I bi-lateral series at Kinrara Oval - Image by Malaysian Cricket Association @MalaysiaCricket (Twitter)

Cricket Association of Thailand (CAT) will be hosting the 2020 Asia Cup Eastern region qualifiers from 29th Feb – 06th Mar, 2020. All matches in the tournament will be played with official T20I status as the main qualifiers and Asia Cup 2020 will be played in the T20 format.

Thailand will be hosting team’s from Singapore, Nepal, Hong Kong and Malaysia in the 5-nation event, where all countries will play against each other in a single round-robin group stage. The top 2 teams in the standings at the end of the league phase in the tournament will advance to the main qualifiers, where they will join the finalist’s from the Western region qualifiers to form the 4-nation event. The winner of the main qualifiers will advance to the main draw of 2020 ACC Asia Cup, to be hosted by Pakistan Cricket Board.

China, Myanmar and Bhutan, who were originally announced to be part of the Eastern Region T20 event, have been withdrawn now. While China pulled out due to the ongoing coronavirus outbreak in the country, the official statement from Bhutan and Myanmar’s withdrawal haven’t been announced by the respective boards.

All matches in the tournament will be played at the Asian Institute of Technology (AIT) ground.

Eastern Region Asia Cup T20 Qualifiers Schedule

29th Feb 2020: Thailand vs Singapore @9:30am ; Malaysia vs Nepal @1:30pm

01st Mar 2020: Nepal vs Hong Kong @9:30am ; Malaysia vs Thailand @1:30pm

03rd Mar 2020: Singapore vs Malaysia @9:30am ; Hong Kong vs Thailand @1:30pm

04th Mar 2020: Nepal vs Thailand @9:30am ; Singapore vs Hong Kong @1:30pm

06th Mar 2020: Singapore vs Nepal @9:30am ; Hong Kong vs Malaysia @1:30pm

This Might Interest You

Have Something to Say on the Topic??

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.