PNG Barramundis in action against Vanuatu in 2019 ICC WT20 EAP Regional Finals at Amini Park at Port Moresby - Image by Pidgin Productions / Cricket_PNG (Twitter)

The 2019 Pacific Games to be held in Samoa will see Cricket being played in both men’s and women’s categories from Jul 08th – 13th, 2019.

Both the medal events matches in men’s and women’s categories will be played in the T20 format and are eligible to carry official T20I status by the Pacific Games Council and ICC / ICC East Asia-Pacific. The matches will be played at the three ovals pitches at the Faleta Sports Complex, situated adjacent to Faleta Sports Fields, the venue for Archery and Touch Rugby.

Men’s and Women’s team’s from Papua New Guinea, Vanuatu, Samoa, Fiji and New Caledonia will be competing in the event. Vanuatu won the Gold in men’s category in the 2015 edition of the games held in Papua New Guinea while Samoa won the Gold in the women’s category. Papua New Guinea clinched the Silver in both categories while Tonga took the bronze in men’s and Fiji took home the bronze in the women’s categories.

Both the men’s and women’s team’s from the ICC members (PNG, Vanuatu, Samoa and Fiji) have taken part in their respective 2020 T20 World Cup regional qualifiers and are expected to be back in the qualifying structure when the process starts for 2021 T20 World Cup regional qualifiers. Matches involving New Caledonia won’t be considered for official T20I status as they are not an Associate member of ICC currently.

The earlier tournament had listed Cook Islands and Tonga as participants as well but have withdrawn their participation and have been replaced by New Caledonia in the event.

For regular news and updates on 2019 Pacific Games, visit the main website or Twitter profile.

This Might Interest You

Share Your Opinion