Papua New Guinea Lewas Squad during 2018 ICC Women's World T20 Qualifiers in Netherlands - Image by ICC OMZ @ICC (Twitter)

Vanuatu will be hosting the East Asia-Pacific regional qualifiers for Women’s World Cups (2020 ICC Women’s T20 World Cup and 2021 ICC Women’s World Cup) from May 06th – 11th, 2019.

As announced by ICC after the conclusion of their Board and Technical Committee meetings held in Singapore in Oct 2018, the regional qualifiers in 2019 will determine the pathway towards the global qualifiers for both T20 and 50-overs World Cups. There will not be separate regional qualifiers for 50-overs World Cup. The regional qualifiers will be staged in the T20 format across all five regions (Africa, Asia, Americas, Europe and East Asia-Pacific).

Women’s squads from Papua New Guinea, Vanuatu, Samoa, Fiji, Indonesia & Japan will be competing in the East Asia-Pacific qualifiers, from which the top nation will join Ireland and Bangladesh in the Global Qualifiers for both the World Cup’s (20-overs & 50-overs). All matches in the qualifiers will carry official T20I status and points will be counted towards the Global Women’s T20I Team rankings.

The 50-overs Global Qualifiers will also see the bottom 3 team’s from the ongoing ICC Women’s Championships 2017-2020 join the regional qualifiers and Ireland/Bangladesh.

While Papua New Guinea made their Women’s T20I team debut’s during the 2018 Women’s World T20 Global qualifiers held in Netherlands, Indonesia made their debut in the recently concluded Thailand Women’s T20 Smash tournament held in Jan 2019. Vanuatu, Samoa, Fiji & Japan will be making their T20I debut in the 2019 East Asia-Pacific qualifiers.

This Might Interest You

Share Your Opinion