Team Captains for the ICC Men's Cricket World Cup Challenge League A 2019 during the Press Conference - Image by ICC Online Media Zone @ICC (Twitter)

International Cricket Council (ICC) have announced the schedule for the upcoming 1st round in the ICC Cricket World Cup (CWC) Challenge League Group A, to be hosted by Malaysian Cricket Association (MCA) from Sep 16th – 26th, 2019.

Host’s Malaysia will be competing against Denmark, Vanuatu, Qatar, Singapore and Canada during the single roun-robin format league stage, where each country will play five List-A status games against their opponents. The Challenge League structure is part of the pathway structure towards 2023 ICC Cricket World Cup, where each member will play three rounds of events (total of 15 List-A games for each memeber in both Group A and B) and at the end of which, the top team from the group will advance to the ICC Qualifiers Challenge play-off tournament (ODI status event), where they will meet with the bottom four members in ICC CWC League 2 tournament.

All touring members in the tournament except Canada have had playing experience in Malaysian conditions in the past couple of years through ICC World Cricket League (WCL) division events or T20 World Cup qualifying events. All matches in the tournament will have official List-A status.

Denmark and Canada played warm-up matches in the lead-up to the main tournament. Malaysia Cricket Association will live stream all the matches on their facebook and YouTube channels.


Denmark: Hamid Shah (Captain), Abdul Hashmi, Freddie Klokker, Zameer Khan, Rizwan Mahmood, Anique Uddin, Jino Jojo, Jonas Henriksen, Nicolaj Damgaard, Monty Singh, Oliver Hald, Zishan Shah, Delawar Khan & Lucky Ali Malik

Did you read about this also?  Netherlands to host Pakistan, West Indies, England & Ireland in Super League

Singapore: Amjad Mahboob (Captain), Aahan Achar, Rezza Gaznavi, Anantha Krishna, Anish Paraam, Aryaman Uchil, Janak Prakash, Manpreet Singh, Vinoth Baskaran, Rohan Rangarajan, Sidhant Singh, Navin Param, Arjun Mutreja & Timothy Hays David

Vanuatu: Andrew Mansale (Captain), Patrick Matautaava, Clement Tommy, Nalin Nipiko, Apo Stephen, Wesley Viraliliu, Ronald Tari, Williamsing Nalisa, Joshua Rasu, Kalo Shem, Jelany Chilia, Jamal Vira, Trevor Langa & Simpson Obed

Canada: Navneet Dhaliwal (Captain), Nikhil Dutta, Nitish Kumar, Rodrigo Thomas, Abraash Khan, Cecil Pervez, Dilon Heyliger, Hamza Tariq, Harsh Thaker, Saad bin Zafar, Romesh Eranga, Ravinderpal Singh, Shahid Ahmadzai & Srimantha Wijeyeratne

Qatar: Kamran Khan, Saqlain Arshad, Awais Malik, Zaheeruddeen Ibrahim, Iqbal Hussain Chaudhry, Qalandar Khan, Muhammad Nadeem, Dharmang Hasmukh Patel, Mohammad Rizlan, Gayan Buddika, Musawar Shah, Syed Yousuf Tameem, Owais Ahmed & Khurram Shahzad

Malaysia: Ahmad Faiz (Captain), Syahadat Ramli, Abdul Rashid, Abdul Rahman, Suharril Fetri, Muhammad Anwar Abdul Rahman, Mohamad Abdul Halim, Pavandeep Singh, Syed Aziz Syed Mubarak, Hafiz Khair, Virandeep Singh, Aminuddin Ramly & Dhivendran Mogan

ICC CWC Challenge League Group A 1st Round Schedule

Date Match Venue Timimg (Local)
16-Sep-19 Denmark vs Malaysia Kinrara Oval 9:30AM
17-Sep-19 Singapore vs Qatar Kinrara Oval 9:30AM
Canada vs Vanuatu Selangor Turf Club 9:30AM
19-Sep-19 Malaysia vs Canada Kinrara Oval 9:30AM
Singapore vs Denmark Selangor Turf Club 9:30AM
20-Sep-19 Vanuatu vs Denmark Kinrara Oval 9:30AM
Qatar vs Malaysia Selangor Turf Club 9:30AM
22-Sep-19 Canada vs Qatar Kinrara Oval 9:30AM
Singapore vs Vanuatu Selangor Turf Club 9:30AM
23-Sep-19 Malaysia vs Singapore Kinrara Oval 9:30AM
Denmark vs Qatar Selangor Turf Club 9:30AM
25-Sep-19 Canada vs Denmark Kinrara Oval 9:30AM
Vanuatu vs Malaysia Selangor Turf Club 9:30AM
26-Sep-19 Qatar vs Vanuatu Kinrara Oval 9:30AM
Singapore vs Canada Selangor Turf Club 9:30AM
Did you read about this also?  Thailand qualify for Women's T20 World Cup in Australia in 2020


Did you know that 20 countries have ODI status and 104 countries have T20I status? Or the fact that Scotland beat CWC19 winner England in ODI cricket in 2018? Or, Netherlands will play in CWC Super League with Full Members? Or, Japan and Nigeria will play in 2020 ICC U19 CWC in South Africa? Most people are missing out on the world of Associate Cricket. Are you one of them? Follow us at or to get all updates and news about the Global Associate Cricket World and how it works outside the Test playing circuit.

This Might Interest You

Have Something to Say on the Topic??