Spain Men's National Squad with 2019 Iberia Cup Trophy at La Manga Club - Image by La Manga Club @LaMangaClub (Twitter)

Cricket Espana men’s national squad have won the 2019 Iberia Cup at La Manga Club, remaining unbeaten in the 4 T20I matches (2 each against Gibraltar and Portugal) from Oct 25th – 27th, 2019.

Portugal registered 2 T20I wins over Gibraltar, who finished the tournament without a win to their name. All matches contributed towards ranking points for Global ICC Men’s T20I Team rankings. All matches were live streamed on European Cricket Network (ECN) website.

Najjam Shahzad (Portugal ) was the highest run-scorer in the tournament with 126 runs in 4 innings, followed by Balaji Avinash Pai (Gilraltar) with 124 runs in 4 innings and Faran Afzal (Portugal) with 121 runs in 4 innings. All three also registered a T20I half-century during the tournament. Tariq Aziz (Portugal) and Balaji Avinash Pai (Gibraltar) were the highest wicket-taker’s in the tournament with 6 scalps each, followed by Yasir Ali (Spain), Matt Hunter (Gibraltar) and Najjam Shahzad (Portugal) with 4 wickets each to their names.

Brief Scores

(T20I) Portugal 87/7 in 20 overs (Najjam Shahzad 27 n.o, Aamer Ikram 23, Faran Afzal 2/14, Adeel Raja 1/8, Tom Vine 1/10) lost to Spain 89/2 in 14.2 overs (Paul Hennessy 38, Yasir Ali 23 n.o, Faran Afzal 15, Tariq Aziz 2/26) by 8 wickets

(T20I) Gibraltar 113/6 in 20 overs (Avinash Pai 52, Chris Delaney 15, Paulo Buccimazza 2/18, Tariq Aziz 1/14, Najjam Shahzad 1/18, Fakhrul Hussain Mohon 1/25) lost to Portugal 116/4 in 18.3 overs (Zohaib Sarwar 33 n.o, Tariq Aziz 23, Francoise Stoman 21 n.o, Aamer Ikram 19, Avinash Pai 2/18, Matt Hunter 2/22) by 6 wickets

(T20I) Gibraltar 98/6 in 20 overs (Ed Packard 26, Avinash Pai 23, Chris Delaney 21, Yasir Ali 2/16, Tom Vine 1/14, Jack Perman 1/23) lost to Spain 99/2 in 15 overs (Faran Afzal 59 n.o, Ravi Panchal 24 n.o, Ed Packard 1/8, Mark Bacarese 1/15) by 8 wickets

(T20I) Spain 143/6 in 20 overs (Faran Afzal 41, Yasir Ali 28, Paul Hennessy 22, Tariq Aziz 3/20, Fakhrul Hussain Mohon 1/21, Paulo Buccimazza 1/24, Najjam Shahzad 1/28) beat Portugal 114 all out in 17.4 overs (Najjam Shahzad 46, Imran Khan 36, Paul Hennessy 2/12, Taqueer Hussain 2/12, Atif Mehmood 2/14) by 29 runs

(T20I) Gibraltar 107/7 in 20 overs (Avinash Pai 35, Matt Hunter 17, Kenroy Nestor 16, Najjam Shahzad 2/16, Syed Ali Naqi 2/20, Zohaib Sarwar 1/8) lost to Portugal 110/6 in 19.2 overs (Najjam Shahzad 53 n.o, Avinash Pai 3/14, Matt Hunter 1/16, Mark Bacarese 1/19, Ed Packard 1/24) by 4 wickets

(T20I) Gibraltar 95 all out in 19.5 overs (Matt Hunter 27, Yasir Ali 2/11, Adeel Raja 2/15, Jack Perman 2/18, Ravi Panchal 1/10) lost to Spain 96/4 in 15.5 overs (Yasir Ali 42 n.o, Ravi Panchal 24, Matt Hunter 1/8, Nikhil Advani 1/12, Mark Garratt 1/12, Avinash Pai 1/13) by 6 wickets

Did you know that 20 countries have ODI status and 104 countries have T20I status? Or that Scotland will host New Zealand in ODI cricket in 2020? Or, Thailand will play in 2020 Women’s T20 World Cup in Australia? Or, Japan and Nigeria will play in 2020 ICC U19 CWC in South Africa? Most people are missing out on the world of Associate Cricket. Are you one of them? Follow us at or to get all updates and news about the Global Associate Cricket World and how it works outside the Test playing circuit.

Did you read about this also?  Spain crowned Champions in 2019 La Manga T20 Tri-series
This Might Interest You

Have Something to Say on the Topic??