14 Countries to compete for 6 Spots in ICC WorldT20 in 2020


    As specified by ICC, 61 countries will be taking part in 12 sub-regional qualifiers for ICC WorldT20, which has already started with the Americas group A sub-regionals involving Bermuda, Cayman Islands and Argentina.

    The remaining 11 sub-regionals will be taking place throughout the course of the year 2018. 25 teams out of 61 will then qualify from the 12 sub-regionals into 5 Regional Finals. And then, 7 countries will qualify from the five regionals to take one step closer to achieving their World Cup dreams.

    They however, will have to group up with the 6 countries, who will be in the Global Qualifiers (outside of top 10 in the rankings) and the host nation (yet to be announced) to form the 14-team WorldT20 Global Qualifiers. The 6 teams who will be in the Global Qualifiers are the ones which took part in the previous T20 edition in 2016 in India, but will be outside the top 10 rankings at the end of 31st Dec 2018.

    Top 6 countries will then move onto the main WorldT20 event in 2020 in Australia.

    This Might Interest You

    Share Your Opinion