Malaysia and Singapore share the spoils in 2017 Stan Nagaiah Trophy

    Malaysia and Singapore share 2017 Stan Ngaiah Trophy after the 3-match series ended in a tie at 1-1 - Image by Singapore Cricket Association //

    Host’s Malaysia and Singapore shared the spoils in the 2017 Stan Nagaiah Trophy as the 3-match series ended 1-1 with the first match washed out due to rains. Malaysia won the 2nd match in the series with Singapore winning a nervy 3rd match by 2 runs to level the series.

    The 2017 edition of the trophy was not played last year due to busy schedules for both the countries and the 2018 edition of the same will be played later in the year. The 3-match 50-overs series was played from 16th – 18th of March 2018 in Kuala Lumpur.

    Brief Scores:

    2nd match:

    Singapore 265/7 in 50 overs (Manpreet Singh 48, Rohan Rangarajan 52, Arjun Mutreja 74 n.o, Utsav Rakshit 25, Shukri Abdul Rahim 3/55, Virandeep Singh 2/41) beat Malaysia 153 all out in 28.4 overs (Revised target 151 to win in 29 overs – Virandeep Singh 72, Mohamed Suharil 29, Chetan Suryawanshi 2/22, Rohit Rangarajan 2/22) by 5 wickets

    3rd match:

    Singapore 267/8 in 50 overs (Janak Prakash 67, Rezza Gaznavi 55, Arjun Mutreja 39, Rohan Rangarajan 34, Syed Aziz Syed Mubarak 2/41, Sharvin Muniandy 2/41, Virandeep Singh 2/51) beat Malaysia 265 all out in 50 overs (Anwar Arudin 100, Virandeep Singh 81, Faiz Noor 55, Sidhant Singh 4/67, Chetan Suryawanshi 2/45) by 2 runs

    Malaysia will be hosting the ICC World Cricket League Division 4 in Apr – May 2018 where they will compete against Bermuda, Denmark, Jersey, Vanuatu and Uganda for the top 2 spots for qualification in ICC WCL Division 3.

    This Might Interest You

    Share Your Opinion