Msanzi Super League (MSL 2.0) squads, schedule & broadcast links

    Reeza Hendricks was a major contributor for Jozi Stars in the inaugural edition of Msanzi Super League - Image by Msanzi Super League @MSL_T20 (Twitter)

    Msanzi Super League (MSL 2.0) conducted it’s player draft on 03rd Sep 2019 at Walter Sisulu Square in Soweto, South Africa and the draft got better response in terms of player registrations, with 184 foreign players (including kolpak players) enrolling themselves, a big rise from the 71, who registered in the inaugural edition.

    Each of the franchise team’s (Cape Town Blitz, Durban Heat, Jozi Stars, Nelson Mandela Bay Giants, Paarl Rocks & Tshwane Spartans) were already allocated a marquee proteas and international player and the team’s chose 13 more in their respective squad during the draft. The final player in the squad will be selected at the conclusion of the Provincial T20 competition.

    The tournament will be available to everyone on free-to-air television on SABC (South African Broadcasting Corporation). SABC3 TV and Radio 2000 will provide live coverage of all matches during the tournament. Sony Six and Sony Six HD will provide live coverage of Mzansi Super League T20 2019 in India and the subcontinent (Sri Lanka, Afghanistan, Nepal, Bangladesh, Pakistan, Maldives & Bhutan) countries, while live streaming will also be available in the Indian subcontinent on the SonyLiv digital platform (Website and App).

    Global Sports Commerce (Singapore) are the official commercial and broadcast partner for Mzansi Super League T20, and all matches will be available on their OTT platform, (Website and App).

    Gary Kirsten (Durban Heat), Mark Boucher (Tshwane Spartans), Ashwell Prince (Cape Town Blitz), Geoffrey Toyana (Paarl Rocks), Eric Simons (Nelson Mandela Bay Giants) and Donovan Miller (Jozi Stars) have been announced as the head coaches for the franchises. However, to the surprise of many, many proven domestic performers like Robbie Frylinck, Andrew Birch, Rory Kleinveldt, Dane Paterson, Dane Piedt, Senuran Muthusamy, Ghihan Cloete, Kyle Verreyne and Christiaan Jonker were not picked up by any of the franchises during the draft.

    MSL T20 Squads

    Cape Town Blitz: Quinton de Kock (Captain), Marques Ackerman, Asif Ali (PAK), Moeen Ali (ENG, until Nov 10th), David Bedingham, Khwezi Gumede, George Linde, Liam Livingstone (ENG), Sisanda Magala, Gregory Mahlokwana, Janneman Malan, Mohammad Nawaz (PAK), Anrich Nortje, Aviwe Mgijima, Vernon Philander, Wahab Riaz (PAK, from Nov 14th) & Dale Steyn

    Durban Heat: Dane Vilas (Captain), Kyle Abbott, Ravi Bopara (ENG), Daryn Dupavillon, Sarel Erwee, Alex Hales (ENG), Marco Jansen, Wihan Lubbe, Keshav Maharaj, Wesley Marshall, David Miller, Andile Phehlukwayo, Malusi Siboto, Prenelan Subrayen, Shaun von Berg & Khaya Zondo

    Jozi Stars: Temba Bavuma (Captain), Eathan Bosch, Dan Christian (AUS), Chris Gayle (WI, until Nov 24th), Simon Harmer, Reeza Hendricks, Shoaib Malik (PAK, from Dec 01st), Duanne Olivier, Dane Paterson, Aaron Phangiso, Nono Pongolo, Delano Potgieter, Sinethemba Qeshile, Kagiso Rabada, Ryan Rickelton, Rassie van der Dussen & Lizaad Williams

    Nelson Mandela Bay Giants: JJ Smuts (Captain), Farhaan Behardien, Matthew Breetzke, Nandre Burger, Junior Dala, Ben Dunk (AUS), Beuran Hendricks, Heino Kuhn, Dyllan Matthews, Marco Marais, Akhona Mnyaka, Chris Morris, Onke Nyaku, Jason Roy (ENG), Imran Tahir & Grant Thomson

    Paarl Rocks: Faf du Plessis (Captain), Ferisco Adams, Henry Davids, Cameron Delport, JP Duminy, Bjorn Fortuin, Sibonelo Makhanya, Mangaliso Mosehle, Kerwin Mungroo, Thando Ntini, Dwaine Pretorius, Tabraiz Shamsi, Isuru Udana (SL), Kyle Verreynne, Hardus Viljoen & James Vince (ENG)

    Tshwane Spartans: Heinrich Klaasen (Captain), Corbin Bosch, Tom Curran (ENG), Theunis de Bruyn, AB de Villiers, Tony de Zorzi, Dean Elgar, Donovan Ferreira, Morne Morkel, Wiaan Mulder, Lungi Ngidi, Waqar Salamkheil (AFG), Lutho Sipamla, Pite van Biljon, Roelof van der Merwe (NED) & Vaughn van Jaarsveld

    Mzansi Super League 2019 Schedule (Local Timings)

    November 8: Jozi Stars vs Cape Town Blitz (5.30pm) – Live Score

    November 9: Durban Heat vs Tshwane Spartans (12.30pm)

    November 10: Paarl Rocks vs Cape Town Blitz (10am)

    Nelson Mandela Bay Giants vs Jozi Stars (2pm)

    November 13: Tshwane Spartans vs Nelson Mandela Bay Giants (5.30pm)

    November 14: Cape Town Blitz vs Jozi Stars (5.30pm)

    November 15: Durban Heat vs Paarl Rocks (5.30pm)

    November 16: Jozi Stars vs Nelson Mandela Bay Giants (12.30pm)

    November 17: Durban Heat vs Cape Town Blitz (10am)

    Paarl Rocks vs Tshwane Spartans (2pm)

    November 20: Nelson Mandela Bay Giants vs Cape Town Blitz (5.30pm)

    November 21: Tshwane Spartans vs Durban Heat (5.30pm)

    November 22: Paarl Rocks vs Jozi Stars (5.30pm)

    November 23: Nelson Mandela Bay Giants vs Durban Heat (12.30pm)

    November 24: Cape Town Blitz vs Paarl Rocks (10am)

    Jozi Stars vs Tshwane Spartans (2pm)

    November 27: Nelson Mandela Bay Giants vs Paarl Rocks (5.30pm)

    November 28: Cape Town Blitz vs Durban Heat (5.30pm)

    November 29: Tshwane Spartans vs Paarl Rocks (5.30pm)

    November 30: Durban Heat vs Nelson Mandela Bay Giants (12.30pm)

    December 1: Jozi Stars vs Paarl Rocks (10am)

    Cape Town Blitz vs Tshwane Spartans (2pm)

    December 3: Nelson Mandela Bay Giants vs Tshwane Spartans (5.30pm)

    December 4: Paarl Rocks vs Durban Heat (5.30pm)

    December 5: Tshwane Spartans vs Jozi Stars (5.30pm)

    December 6: Cape Town Blitz vs Nelson Mandela Bay Giants (5.30pm)

    December 7: Jozi Stars vs Durban Heat (12.30pm)

    December 8: Paarl Rocks vs Nelson Mandela Bay Giants (10am)

    December 8: Tshwane Spartans vs Cape Town Blitz (2pm)

    December 10: Durban Heat vs Jozi Stars (5.30pm)

    December 13: Eliminator (5.30pm)

    December 16: Final (5.30pm)

    Did you know that 20 countries have ODI status and 104 countries have T20I status? Or the fact that Scotland beat CWC19 winner England in ODI cricket in 2018? Or, Netherlands will play in CWC Super League with Full Members? Or, Japan and Nigeria will play in 2020 ICC U19 CWC in South Africa? Most people are missing out on the world of Associate Cricket. Are you one of them? Follow us at or to get all updates and news about the Global Associate Cricket World and how it works outside the Test playing circuit.

    This Might Interest You

    Have Something to Say on the Topic??

    This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.