Rwanda to host 4-nation “Kwibuka Cricket for Peace” T20 tournament

    Rwanda Women's cricketers in the recently concluded V.R.Naidu T20 domestic tournament at Gahanga Oval in Kigali - Image by Rwanda Cricket Association @WomenCrikRwa (Twitter)

    Rwanda Cricket Association will be hosting Women’s team’s from Kenya, Uganda and Zambia for a 4-nation “Kwibuka Cricket for Peace” T20 tournament at Kigali from 06th – 10th Jun, 2018.

    The Annual tournament marks the commemoration of the 1994 Genocide against the Tutsi, which killed over one million people in only 100 days. The theme of the tournament will be “Remember, Unite and Renew” to promote peaceful co-existence.

    All matches will be played at Gahanga Oval at Kigali, which recently saw International matches being held for a T20 series between the men’s team’s of Rwanda and Zambia.

    Kenya, the defending champions of the tournament have announced their squad, led by Margaret Banja and coached by Lameck Onyango. For Uganda, this will be another opportunity for the National squad members to get some International game time before heading to Netherlands in Jul 2018 for ICC Women’s World T20 Qualifiers.

    Kenya Squad for “Kwibuka Cricket for Peace” T20:

    Margaret Banja (Captain), Sarah Bhakita, Sylvia Kinyua, Queentor Abel, Mary Wambui, Venessa Adhiambo, Eather Wangari, Faith Mwende, Mercy Aono, Veronica Abuga, Daisy Wairimu, Peninah Githome, Alice Muoki & Ruth Ambiyo

    This Might Interest You

    Share Your Opinion