Two Associate players in ICC’s World Cup Qualifier XI team

    Scotland's Calum MacLeod smashes first 150+ score in ICC WCQ against Afghanistan - Image by ICC OMZ @ICC (Twitter)

    Two Associate players made it to the World Cup Qualifiers XI team revealed by ICC after the tournament concluded on 25th Mar 2018, with Afghanistan crowed as the Champions after they defeated West Indies in the final.

    As expected, the playing XI is heavily dominated by players from West Indies, Afghanistan and Zimbabwe. Scotland’s Kyle Coetzer and Safyaan Sharif made it into the final XI, showcasing the good performances given by both the players throughout the Qualifiers.

    One would think that few other players from Associate countries deserved a spot in the playing XI in the places of Najibullah Zadran, Boyd Rankin and Marlon Samuels.



    Team of the ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifier 2018 (in batting order):

    Evin Lewis (West Indies), Kyle Coetzer (Scotland), Brendan Taylor (Zimbabwe) (wicketkeeper), Marlon Samuels (West Indies), Mohammad Nabi (Afghanistan), Sikandar Raza (Zimbabwe), Najibullah Zadran (Afghanistan), Jason Holder (West Indies) (Captain), Safyaan Sharif (Scotland), Boyd Rankin (Ireland) & Mujeeb Rahman (Afghanistan)

    Rashid Khan (Afghanistan) (12th player)

    This Might Interest You

    Share Your Opinion