UAE’s T10 tournament gets ICC Approval; player draft in October


    Cricket’s top legends, past & present, will be in action when the first ever T10 International tournament takes place from December 21st-25th, 2017 in UAE. The event has gained approval from the International Cricket Council and is being backed by Emirates Cricket Board. The team names and owners have been announced earlier and now, the latest development will see England’s Eoin Morgan and Sri Lankan legend, Kumar Sangakkara, also participate in this tournament.

    Six teams named Colombo Kings, Maratha Arabians, Punjabi Legends, Pakthoons, Kerala Kings and Bangla Tigers will participate in the event.

    At an average of four minutes an over, one innings will get over in 40 minutes and, after a ten-minute break, the second innings of 40 minutes duration will begin. Matches will start from 6.30pm and three games will be held per day during the four days, which will be Thursday, Friday, Saturday and Sunday.

    Colombo Kings will be represented by Sri Lanka’s Dinesh Chandimal while Shakib Al-Hasan will lead Bangla Tigers. 2 UAE players will be mandatory to be picked per team.

    The league has been sold for $51 million (Dh187.2 million) for ten years. The players draft will be held on October 25 and is expected to see a list of 120 players going under the hammer.

    Cricket Legend Brian Lara has also jumped on board the T10 train as he will coach the Kerala Kings team in the event.

    This Might Interest You

    Have Something to Say on the Topic??

    This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.